We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic tuscan food”

Trattoria Pallottino
Reserve with
Trattoria Pallottino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,187 of 2,724 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Steakhouse, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Description: Typical Tuscan old trattoria born in 1911, just a few steps from Piazza Santa Croce and Piazza Signoria. Rustic, informal, with benches and wooden tables and an open kitchen. Sixty seats in the two internal rooms and the outdoor seating area in the pedestrian zone. Always make a home-style regional cuisine and economical and we specialize in Florentine steak cooked to coal.
Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rustic tuscan food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is your typical restaurant next door with a simple decor and one that serves simple but rustic Tuscan food. We were quite lucky to get a reservation last minute, we noticed some people were turned away at the door and advised to come back later. The service was a little rushed but they were also full-house so it was understandable. We had a creamy pasta with zucchini and tomatoes and a vegetable soup which was unfortunately quite forgettable and wished we had ordered something else, but then they won us over with the beef stew and roast potatoes - this dish was very, very well executed. The orange cheesecake was also a winner and a very pleasant way to end the evening. Overall a good experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rj_eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear friend, thank you for choosing our restaurant during your holiday in Florence, we are happy to read that the experience spent with us was positive although not all the dishes were up to. Best regards and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    479
    143
    74
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

there is really nothing special about this restaurant, there are loads of venues like this around town, with rustic decor, simple, traditional Tuscan dishes and wine flasks on the table.
What this restaurant also boasts, is possibly the slowest service ever seen in a restaurant.The whole meal took us about FOUR hours, and while we waited about 1 hour and 20 mins for our mains, no one bothered to collect dirty plates from the table in the meantime, so that once we eventually received our mains, that had just cleaned the plates - but hadn't brought any cutlery. Mains were quite bland, too - other than pork chops, which were very good. Overall, don't bother.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelle_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Nelle, our own behavior was unseemly and disgraceful and I do not know how to thank you for average grade that you have given us, however the 4 hours are a few exaggerated (dinner service from 7.30 to 10.30 pm) and although our waiter was nicknamed "sloth" no offense to the animal. Best regards and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Apparently, I am among the minority”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Quite possibly, the worst dining experience of the entire two weeks in Florence. It was Thursday night and the restaurant is near to empty. Two of us arrive and are met with a flummoxed woman unaware of where to put us. Service was absolutely laughable and my gnocci was the consistency of library paste. For all the raves, I can not for the life of me understand how this place is rated so highly.

Oh, the best part? Having a view of the kitchen and watching the chef talk LOUDLY to the server while brandishing (and pointing) a very large machete-like knife at her.

First time in my life I was practically begging for the check so I could leave.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick3581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Patrick, thank you for taking this fantastic and funny review, it was a pleasure to meet you and I hope that there will be another opportunity to spend another funny evening with us, best greeting and wishes for a Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rustic with style”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Super stylish rustic italian food, plenty of locals but nicely mixed with tourist, portions won't let you go hungry but not too large.(just right) Wine great service tops. Look at the menu on line. Highly recommended. Antipasto and cured meat platter was amazing. Desert was fabulous. Run out of adjectives now just go and try it out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moonmonkeycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Moonmonckeycrew, thank you for writing this wonderful review, we are always nice compliments, best wishes to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Location”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Trattoria Pallottino was recommended to us by a local shopkeeper. The world championship road cycling championship had just passed by and there were crowds of people in Piazza Santa Croce which is very near. We were concerned that we would not be able to find a table for lunch...a daunting prospect! We found the restaurant very easily and were able to get a table immediately.
The clientele seemed to be mainly Italian, a good sign in a tourist area.
We were directed to seats at a long table with wooden benches and chairs. It seemed a little crowded and it did make entry and exit from the seat a little difficult.
The service was prompt, but a little offhand.
The menu was competent and the prices reasonable. We had the house red wine which was quite satisfactory.
The food arrived promptly and was well-prepared and tasty. The prices seemed very reasonable, particularly considering its proximity to the main tourist area.
Overall, I would rate Trattoria Pallottino as very good. Nothing was memorable, but there were no disappointments.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear customers, thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to write this beautiful and sincere review. If one day you will return to Florence, remember us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Pallottino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Pallottino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing