We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favorite Trattoria in Florence”

Trattoria Pallottino
Reserve with
Trattoria Pallottino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,416 of 2,680 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Mediterranean, Grill, Wine Bar, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Description: Typical Tuscan old trattoria born in 1911, just a few steps from Piazza Santa Croce and Piazza Signoria. Rustic, informal, with benches and wooden tables and an open kitchen. Sixty seats in the two internal rooms and the outdoor seating area in the pedestrian zone. Always make a home-style regional cuisine and economical and we specialize in Florentine steak cooked to coal.
San Diego
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“my favorite Trattoria in Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I eat here every time I visit the city. It has rustic charm, the owners are marvelous to deal with and best of all, the food is homemade and excellent. It is priced very, very reasonably and the ingredients are always fresh and tasty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to write your very welcome this judgment. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our food and if you go back to Italy and Florence, I hope you will return here too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    773
    467
    139
    74
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“the menu was on construction paper”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

that should have been our first sign to run for the hills... we'd been walking for a long time, looking for a place to eat and finally settled here since it had been recommended in our Fodor's guidebook. we were too tired to leave but when we saw the printed menu that had been glued to construction paper with a handwritten "menu" on it, it caused us some pause. understandably so given the service and food quality.

first, the caprese salad and our entree came at the same time. what??? the salad was a tomato that had not been sliced into individual slices. they must have thought it was "good presentation" to place about 5 cuts in the tomato and putpieces of mozzarella into the cuts. we were left to complete their work and portion it out for ourselves AND put olive oil (from a gigantic bottle) on our individual portions. that is not acceptable anywhere under any circumstance. i'm sorry but i'm paying them to serve me. that's the principle behind a restaurant.

second, the lasagna had absolutely no flavor or texture.

third, the idea of outdoor seating is so wonderful for someone who lives where it's cold most of the year. this restaurant is on a tiny alleyway so the locals are practically walking on your table if you are sitting outside.

no ambiance, no flavor, no service. please save yourselves and don't even think of going here for a meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear customer, thank you for being with us, this is not intended as a true response but a simple thought, in fact, are not interested in your own judgment on how you wrote your review, we found it very difficult to understand what the real problem you're having, the menu printed in the paper? the bottle of oil? as the caprese salad was served? what else? We were really puzzled, almost without words.
We have read all your contributions on Tripadvisor and I am sorry to note that in many beautiful places visited have not found what you might be expecting, then it is used around the world, having seen 31 countries and all seven continents when there is no the spirit of the traveler, it is better to stay at home?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Local food at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Simple looking place and simple looking food, but the food was one of the best, if not best we had during our stay in Florence.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Henrietta_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Henrietta, very kind customers, thank you for coming to us and thanks also for your very welcome contribution to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expected for more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We read the reviews and walked have of the city to get to this place. We orderd a tomato soup and some pasta. The soup was more like a tomato pasta souce than a soup and the pasta was just OK. The lasagna on the other hand was very good and the house wine wase chip and seticfy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank planetranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear and kind customers, thank you for coming to us. thanks for writing this review, this gives me the opportunity to clarify that it is difficult to offer local dishes when surely, as in your case, the taste may be very different. This is the "pappa al pomodoro" and we do not will never change in a tomato soup which may be more suitable for a wider range of customers. We will keep the old recipe, without compromise. Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to publish these assertions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“The best food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

In this place we ate the best meal in Italy. Fantastic lasagne home made and gnocchi of potatoates with cream of blu cheese and rucola. The fiorentina steak was the best meat then we ate in our life. The waitress was very kind and with smile. We Willemstad come back here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jozef H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriapallottino, Proprietario at Trattoria Pallottino, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Jozef, thanks for the kind words that we spend and we're so glad that you enjoyed our food, we will be happy to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Pallottino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Pallottino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing