We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Italian Food”

Trattoria La Casalinga
Ranked #193 of 2,724 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Cornwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Truly Italian Food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We ate here on four evenings at the end of February, the food on every occasion was excellent and enjoyed by both of us, The staff speak good English and are very happy to explain the menu and recommend dishes. There are a number of specials on every evening, these can sell out quite quickly, so we would recommend that you book a table for 7 p.m. We thought that Casalinga was excellent value and would not hesitate in recommending a visit here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank di947red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,129
    797
    206
    58
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very Italian”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Me and my friends found this place when we went for a walk in Oltrarno, and we wanted to return there later to have a dinner. But when we came back the Trattoria was overcrowded, you better book it or come at 7 pm like we did next day, most of the reservations are from 8:30 - 9:00 pm so we had plenty of time to enjoy the vine, food and lovely atmosphere of this place. This is not a quiet place to be - all the waiters and cooks are out-voiced and making fun of each other, a lot of locals eating here, and this is always a good sing, excellent food and not expensive prices. One of my favorite restaurants in Florence.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Tried this restaurant on the recommendation of our hotel and we had a very pleasant evening there. The food was good and reasonable value. Gets very busy as soon as they open, so it may be an idea to book a table in advance, especially over a weekend.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brownbooboobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Riley, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Italians get seated first”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stumbled upon this little place more or less on accident and after waiting for a while to be seated (Italians got seated twice before us eventhough they came in later without reservations and them trying to seat 2 American ladies who had to tell them we were actually in before them) we finally got a table. They only have their menus in Italian and nobody really speaks English so it was a little hard to pick something out. but when we did Food was great and we were served very fast. The best part was the lemon sorbet served in an actual lemon.
Very home-y feeling, seemed like the entire family was cooking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best to Book”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant as a good in-expensive place to eat prior to attending the opera at St Marks Church. We arrived at about 18:45 and the shutters were still down as it does not open until 19:00hrs. There was already a queue starting to build and luckily we were near the front. When we went in they asked if we had a reservation as nearly everybody else did. We were found a table and a friendly English speaking waitress attended to us very promptly.Shortly after we were seated they starting turning people away as it was so busy. I got the impression that it was a family run business and was traditional Tuscan cooking. The food was superb, simple Italian cooking using fresh produce.The price was also very reasonable, probably the cheapest we had found in Florence. I wish we had found this on our first night rather than the last.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gingademon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria La Casalinga also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria La Casalinga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing