We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Jewel”

Trattoria La Casalinga
Ranked #184 of 2,680 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected Jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Found this place accidentally after we didn't like the menu of the place that we had reservations at. It was a crowded and lively place with an interesting menu. We did not have reservations and were told that it would be a 20 minute wait, but were seated in less than 5 minutes. The menu was only in Italian, but the waitress patiently explained it to us. Spaghetti bolognese, veal chop for me while my wife had bean soup and veal slices. Everything was delicious. Including a carafe of house wine, coffee and dessert total came to €62.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 72asbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,087
    773
    199
    54
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“glad we found la casalinga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

It was recommended by monti at the hotel allesandra and we enjoyed our meals there 2 evenings. Pasta was fresh, sauces didn't overwhelm them, veal was tender, caprise salad fresh, house wine tasty, and the desserts, especially the torte di nonna, profiteroles, and tiramisu, were delicious. We didn't have reservations the first night but were seated within a few minutes by friendly staff. Excellent food and casual, comfortable atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hgminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome profiterole!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I liked the resto very much, it was very tasty and price was ok. The food was like homemade and the service was good. If you go, you should arrive early, because it can be very full. I highly recomend the profiterole, they are the best I've ever tried, really delicious!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cebollitaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Be early for a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The menu is simple, but quite extensive. Our limited Italian was greeted with a degree of amusement but our order was taken with casual efficiency. No matter how busy the wait staff became, all orders were committed to memory, with not a note pad in sight.

Barely a minute seemed to elapse before we had our bread, water and wines were delivered. [on a second visit, we saw the secret to that – many carafes and half carafes of wine were already set up in anticipation of the rush]

We sampled the wide choice of Antipasti, including ‘”crostini misti” and “insalata di rucola e grana” (salad of rocket and cheese). For mains we had two different pasta dishes and a simple veal dish, all of which were judged to be tasty and wholesome

The vino bianco and vino rosso went down well. In places like this, the ‘vino di casa’ usually seems to be a good choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foacinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful, honest food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The service here was mostly friendly, but a little frenetic due to very busy long-weekend turmoil. The starter of fagioli on bread was simply delicious. Roast pork and potatoes is a winner. So is the roast chicken. The house wine was perfect with the "traditional" Tuscan fare.

I would return in an instant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria La Casalinga also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria La Casalinga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing