We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food But Not Good Service”
Review of Cibreo Trattoria

Cibreo Trattoria
Ranked #721 of 2,787 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $58
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Description: Cibrèo Trattoria has enlivened Sant’Ambrogio district in Florence for the past 40 years. Launched in 1979 by the Florentine chef Fabio Picchi, it is better known among Florentines, as “Cibrèino” or “Cibrèo of the poor”. Its peculiarity relies on offering to its guests the same authentic flavours and genuine aromas of Florentine and Tuscan cuisine, served also in the next door sister restaurant. However, in a familiar and informal atmosphere, you can taste a good variety of bargain priced food while not giving up quality.
Reviewed July 8, 2016

We went to Trattoria Cibreo based on the good reviews but were underwhelmed. It was pretty casual and was able to get a table for 2 on a Friday night at 8pm. We ordered the tripe as a starter, which was pretty good but nothing special. My wife got the stuffed rabbit and I ordered the pork loin. Both items were better than expected but what brings this review down was the service. It took forever to get initial service and took even longer when we ordered additional items and drinks. It took so long that we just decided to ask for the check so we could leave. Even then, it took us 15 minutes to pay. Overall, food was good but the service was so off putting that we would not come back.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank adrianmX5781PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2016

Pot Luck, that's what we call it. We had a great meal. I had a fantastic cold pork dish that was excellent, while my wife enjoyed a fish minestrone soup, which was unusual, but good. A great dinner.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShaunF429
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016

We had a lovely, good value-for-money meal here, including some very creative antipasti (one of ground almonds, the consistency of hummus, served with bread) , a traditional bread and tomato soup (our server told us to eat it with a fork, and that was indeed possible), and minestrone. Secondi on offer included veal scallops with a spicy tomato-based sauce, which was fabulous, served with a melange of vegetables that included beets. Most dishes arrived room temperature, as our servers had told us to expect. The limited menu, which is hand-written, also featured some delicious dolci, including a cheesecake with apricot, a chocolate pudding, and a dense chocolate cake.

Contrary to what guide books and friends had led us to believe, we didn't have to wait for a table when we arrived at 7:30 pm (mid-week), and the place didn't come close to filling up during the time we were there. Also contrary to some reports, the establishment does take credit cards. So go on, give Trattoria Cibreo a try.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Sprout15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2016

Set on a corner, the tables spill onto the street. The service was excellent and the food for lunch very, very good. I had a chef's selection of antipasto which was delicious. I would definitely return.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CaroSparrowSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

One of the best meals!! Staff friendly and helpful, really took pride in what they served and the dishes were amazing! Couldn't have wandered into a better place!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibreo Trattoria also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Cibreo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.