We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Meal We Ever Had”
Review of Cibreo Trattoria

Cibreo Trattoria
Ranked #494 of 2,703 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Meal We Ever Had”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our friends recommended this as the “best restaurant in Florence,” and they were right. It has “world-class” food and service. It also provides “individualized” service, something we’ve never experienced before: There’s no menu; instead the waiter pulls a chair up, explains all the dishes, and answers all your questions. Then the sommelier comes over and makes suggestions (from a wide range of prices). The meal starts with an appetizer course (chicken pate, ricotta flan, tripe, etc) “on the house” and includes a “little surprise” between each course and with dessert. Every dish is based on “ancient Florentine recipes,” and some of them sound weird (chicken meatballs in pomodoro sauce, spinach flan with tomato sauce and shaved parmesan) but taste fabulous. The main course is served with five side order for each diner to try. We went twice and discovered that the menu changes every day because it depends on what they purchase in the morning. Also, the owner is a “down-to-earth” guy who speaks five languages and who gave me a kiss on each cheek when I thanked him for one of the best meals I’ve ever had. P.S. Make a reservation in advance via e-mail (or as soon as you get to Italy) because it "books up" almost every night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    224
    86
    60
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Local food, local color”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Cibreo brand is comprised of this cafe, it's more upscale and expensive restaurant version across the street, and a dinner theatre/ breakfast/lunch facility.
You have to have an inexpensive membership to get into the dinner theatre but it's well worth it, as the all inclusive price is a bargain for a multi course dinner and show(varies a lot). Seating limited.
The cafe has indoor and outdoor seating and the food selection is excellent. Service is good even though there is a bit of up-selling. Patrons aren't rushed. House wines are good.
The owner of this neat little empire is bigger than life with his white long hair and trimmed matching beard. He paces around and talks to guests and corrects food choices if he sees anything out of line.
We had a lovely two hour lunch that cost more than some area restaurants but less than his restaurant across the street and less than city center would. Oh, and the antipasti course is wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BartMBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here on our first night in Firenze. The waiters were friendly and helpful in explaining the dishes we couldn't identify on the all-Italian menu. And the food was amazing, typical Tuscan cuisine. I saw others complaining about the size of the portions. Well, either we were lucky or we're used to completely different sizes... All in all, we had a great experience that set the mood for our stay in Firenze.

Helpful?
Thank Seirios1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Visited the restaurant ( there is the trattoria & cafe close by ) with a group of friends. There are no menus- a woman comes & sits at the table explaining all the dishes. I can't recall my app, but my entree was a 4x4 eggplant parm on top of potatoes. Extremely overpriced, very trendy. The place itself is very warm & inviting, with wonderful smells wafting from the Cucina. Don't go hungry & expect to pay a lot for a little.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreijunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wanted to love, but not what the reviews said”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had looked forward to dining at Cibreo and was on our "to do list" for Italy. There are three Cibreo's and we dined at the Trattoria where no reservations are required. They were friendly, but the food was mediocre at best. I know this restaurant gets rave review, but the night we went it was not the best. I here the fine dining Cibreo is excellent; but we did not eat there. The three restaurants, Cibreo -- Cafe, Trattoria and fine dining are all on the same block. Give it a try; it's famous maybe we caught an off night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cct208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibreo Trattoria also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Cibreo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing