We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very helpful landlord and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Le Rondini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Le Rondini
Ranked #222 of 621 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Very helpful landlord and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We were traveling through Italy by train and needed an affordable place to stay when we visited Firenze. The landlord was very helpful with making the best out of our short stay. He pointed us to good value restaurants, his favourite attractions in the city and the closest super market. Genuinely kind and helpful.

The room was nice and airconditioned, perhaps not the newest bed, but all in all a good room. I reccommend backpacks instead of suitcases because of the lack of an elevator, but that is just a minor problem.

I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toresansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    42
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My boyfriend and I arrived here after a very long and stressful day of train travel, so all we wanted was to get to out accommodation and relax! We got there and the 'landlord' wasn't there and the door was locked which made us panic, however there is a sign next to the door saying something along the lines of: "If I'm not here go to the bar round the corner". We had to go to the right, round the corner and head for the first cafe/bar on the right and the owner was there. He immediately made us feel incredibly welcome and at ease and he was amazingly kind and helpful. He gave us all the information we needed and more.

We booked a double room, breakfast excluded and the room was on the third floor, which is a bit of a trek with heavy bags, but it was fine. You have a code for the front door or the third floor and separate keys for your actual room, so it feels very secure. The room was very nice and clean, with an ensuite bathroom with a shower, a toilet and a sink. There was air conditioning which was a life saver most of the time and a dressing table with a mirror, and the bed was quite comfortable.

It was amazingly close to the centre of Florence (about a 5-10 minute walk to the Accademia where the statue of David is). Florence was probably my favourite place of all of Italy and I really wish we had had longer than 2 days there as we really had to pack things in. The Duomo, the basilica and the cathedral were amazingly beautiful with wonderful views from the top of the duomo (definitely worth paying to go up there - especially if you're a photography freak like me).
The Accademia queue gets absolutely massive and it doesn't go down quickly (we waited in it for half an hour and only moved a metre, so we gave up) But a tip to all: Go there either at around 4/5 o'clock, just before it closes (6 ish) to avoid the queues, OR do as we did and go at 7pm when they open to the public for FREE. This is a very unknown fact to most, and we got told this last minute by the reservation desk opposite - I'm not sure whether it was just the day, or time of year we were there, but it is worth a try, the statue of David is really incredible.

When we were leaving, the owner was extremely helpful once again with suggesting places to go in Siena (our next destination on our inter rail trip) and we were very reluctant to leave! He does an awful lot and is still always smiling!

It may be that I just loved Florence as a place, but there's not doubt that such great accommodation helped massively in how much I liked it! I would recommend this place to anyone, no matter what budget you have. We payed £36 a night and it was entirely worth it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J-ardagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The most important thing I think I have to tell everyone that even considers to stay here: You don't get a beakfast! It says on their own website that it's a B&B but it's not! When we arrived at the building no one answered when when we pressed the buzzer. So we called the numberr next to the buzzer. A guy, Lorenzo answers and says that we should try to press the buzzer and that someone should answer. This was a lie because there is noone in the building except for the guests. My theory is that he just wants to seem more proffesional or to make the guests believe someone is in the building so that the guests won't be loud or break something. There are signs everywhere that they will throw you out if you bother the other guests.
He was soooo creepy, sleezy and weird. He was in our room when we weren't there and didn't even change the towels or clean, he just made the bed really, really bad. It was like he was poking around. He wanted us to pay the day he was in our room so he left a note that he would be back in the morning. He did not come in the morning, he came that same evening at about 9pm! This was really annoying because we were already sleeping and he woke us up.
There is no elevator and you have to climb up to the 4th floor and there is no airconditioning, which is necessary in the summer when it's 38degs outside. There is a fan which is really loud. I got a migraine from it every single day.
The only good thing was that we had fast WiFi.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cerasum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Le Rondini is a set of rooms in an Italian town house. It's within walking distance of the station (beware there are two number 43's on the same road!) and the owner will meet you there and show you the room and give you plenty of information about Florence. The rooms share a small fridge between them that you can use.
We had a side room with a small balcony although the room itself was quite small. it's only a ten minute walk to the main sites in Florence (Duomo area) and the central market area where you can get a great breakfast.
It's a great place to stay if you intend to be mainly out and about exploring the beauty of Florence and just want someone to rest your head overnight.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We had actually booked the cheapest room which had a bathroom (with a lock) outside the room. When we got there, we were given a choice by a very nice and helpful man. We chose the room with the balcony which although smaller, did have a window and also a balcony and a bathroom ensuite. It was very quiet and comfortable, in an attractive neighborhood really close to the Galleria dell' Accademia, and an easy walk to the train station and the Duomo.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENMIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed at the Residenza Le Rondini for 3 nights in August. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. The water flow from the showers in each room was a little erratic at times, but otherwise it was all good. The Residenza is close to the tourist sights for walking, and so is ideally placed, and is about a 10 min walk from the rail station.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank croatiabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

An Italian town house on the 3rd floor without a lift. Definitely AVOID if U have heavy bags to carry (up 3 floors or 9 flights of stairs)!

5 clean quiet rooms @32.50 Euros ( v. cheap)--- ALL on the 3rd floor with private bath, Fan, TV, free WiFi & a portable A/C (which doesn't work, acc. to the owner--- but it can be plugged in & used, if needed---it works v. well).

20 mins walk from Firenze SMN & then 9 flights up---v. tiring with bags--take a taxi from the Stn. Hard to find at first but it's location is OK for walking around the city and seeing all the sights.

Lorenzo, the host, is really friendly & helpful. He himself carried our heaviest bag up 3 floors!
U must arrange a meeting time to check in as he is not always at home.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank drsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
IH Hotel Firenze Business
#227 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
San Lorenzo
B&B Lanterna Fiorentina
B&B Lanterna Fiorentina
#42 of 273 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Villino il Leone
#119 of 621 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residenze La Mongolfiera
#283 of 621 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Belfiore B&B
Belfiore B&B
#265 of 621 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Select Executive
#530 of 621 in Florence
3.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Le Rondini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Le Rondini

Property: Residenza Le Rondini
Address: Via San Zanobi 43, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 621 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residenza Le Rondini 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Residenza Le Rondini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing