We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“== very good lunch, close to Uffizi ==”
Review of Birreria Centrale

Birreria Centrale
Ranked #150 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Duomo
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“== very good lunch, close to Uffizi ==”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a very good lunch here: Tuscan pasta and tomato risotto.
No culinary highlight but good food and service at a reasonable price in a pictoresque restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDutchman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    322
    53
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Such tasty food and we were treated like family!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our first night to Florence, Italy after a long day of travels and we were so happy to find Birreria! We wanted to sit outside but it was too busy so we decided to eat inside. What a great decision. The service and food were awesome. We even went back on a different day for lunch, and to sit outside, and lunch was superb as well. Highly recommended to anyone who wants an authentic well valued meal in Italy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhondalikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of our Best Dinners in Florence”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stumbled on this place in a lovely little back alley in Florence near the Piazza della Signoria. Feeling adventurous we ordered the Gran Piatta di pasta. It was a dish for two comprised of 4 different pasta dishes - chef's choice. It was AMAZING! So delish that we decided to dine there a second night. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“OK Food, Forgettable Service, Nice Ambiance”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Birreria Centrale was packed the evening we had dinner there and we were lucky to get a table within only 5 minutes of waiting. Food was OK; porc and chicken stew was good, the osso bucco was average. Price was average for Florence, but a bit high for the value. Bread selection average and cover was high too high for the service. Service was unattentive at best; appetizers came at the same time with the main course; service was very impersonal; had to remind the waitress to bring the bill quite some time of waiting after the first request. Place inside is small but nice; was made lively by the guests; has also an outside patio in the small piazza dei Cimatori. Worth a try if you are out of other options or have tried a number of other dinner places in Florence and want to try this one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertJohn_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Called into this restaurant as we were in the area and glad we did... we hadn't booked but the waitress managed to find us a table inside the restaurant. Staff were friendly and attentive, the atmosphere was good and the food was excellent. Inside the seats are church pews which adds to the atmosphere of the restaurant. Food was tasty and served hot (tried two different pasta dishes) and the house wine was cheap and a good choice.

We were lucky to get a table so recommend booking a table and would say that inside has more atmosphere than the tables outside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birreria Centrale also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Birreria Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing