We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food tour & educational also..”
Review of Taste Florence

Taste Florence
Ranked #8 of 139 Food & Drink in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Voted Best Food Tour by The Culinary Travel Guide, this is a delicious way to begin your stay in Florence. We are Sommeliers, Culinary Professors, and Licensed Guides- but no worries, you'll have fun while tasting your way through Florence. Join our four hour Taste Florence Food Tour, and taste cheeses, balsamic vinegars, olive oils, antipasti, wine, gelato and several more local specialties. Featured in the Washington Post, The Dallas Morning News, The Toronto Star, The Boston Globe, The Newcastle Herald, on the CBC, on Voice of America, Deutsche Welle and more. Taste Florence with us and get the insider's edge on what to eat and where to find it.
Florence, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious food tour & educational also..”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family of four adults thoroughly enjoyed our food tour with Cristina in September. We were shown all areas of Italian food, wines, vinegars, the bakery, the butcher, the food and farmer's market and of course, the important gelato choices. Cristina was delightful, helpful and very knowledgable. All were glad we made this food tour a part of our trip and would enjoy a repeat. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WadeReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    37
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Az
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I spent four tasty hours touring various shops and markets with Taste Florence as part of a cruise we took in October 2012. Since we had both been to Florence previously we wanted to do something a bit different...and we both love Italian food and wanted to get a local taste of Tuscany. We learned to differentiate the types of Italian hams at the butcher, olive oils and vinegars (a bit TMI on the oils and vinegars), tasted a wide assortment of goodies in one of the outdoor markets (some of the best seafood I've ever tasted), and sipped some of the local wines. All in all a very nice tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank xworldhistoryteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nom nom nom”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I can't rate this experience highly enough. I took the tour in December 2011. The weather was miserable and cold, and this tour was just perfect for the weather ... eating all kinds of yummy food and drinking wine ... it's perfect for winter.

Toni was an exceptional tour guide ... the best tour guide I had in Italy from a few tours with different companies. She was attentive ... she had written down where we were from and our backgrounds and incorporated that into the experience. She was so enthusiastic about the food and wine. She's got good working relationships with the people offering food etc but she didn't pressure anyone into buying their products to get a commission. She was soooo enthusiastic about food ... I think she was a former food critic and is a very interesting conversationalist on all things food-related ... she's clearly a woman who's spent much of her life thinking about food which makes the experience so enriching.

If I had to chose between this tour and one of the other food tours again I'd pick this one just because of Toni.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank babyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We laughed, we ate....”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Food and fun. what a combination. Toni was our guide and meet us promptly. Started tour with a great bakery with the best breakfast pastry and tea. I wish I could find that at home. All the stops were wonderful. Panini's were great. Wine tasting and even a balsamic vinegar tasting was great. Take the tour on your first day in Florence so you can go back to your favorite places. Great tour for both young and old.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a way to see Florence through food and wine”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Today we shared a walk through Florence with Joanna from Taste florence.
We met promptly, headed straight off for some tastings from a local butcher, a baker, the markets, the wine tasting & finally chocolate, cantucci and gelato . The day was full of laughs, off the tourist track at times very enjoyable in the quieter streets of Florence.
It was excellent value, hassle free booking, even though we booked late and loads of ideas for meals over these next few days.
Thanks so much
Maria & Nina Australia

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tlctamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Florence also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Taste Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing