We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST SERVICE EVER”
Review of Trattoria Mario

Trattoria Mario
Ranked #75 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Description: From 1st March 1953. We are open only for lunch, we haven't the freezer, we don't make reservation. No credit card and bancomat. ATTENZIONE SIAMO APERTI SOLO A PRANZO DAL LUNEDI AL SABATO COMPRESI E CHIUSI LA DOMENICA E TUTTI I GIORNI FESTIVI OLTRE AL MESE DI AGOSTO PER FERIE. NO BRUNCH NO COLAZIONI NO CONSEGNA NO CENA NO DOPO MEZZANOTTE.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WORST SERVICE EVER”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Ive never experienced such bad service before! Very rude waitress who failed to provide the basic customer service! Food takes ages to arrive. Not recommended

Helpful?
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,520
    972
    188
    58
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We saw a bunch of people queueing and out of curiousity wondered over to have a look at the wonderful reviews all plasted on the trattoria's door and window. And we immediately put in our names to the queue! Ordered pasta pomodoro and bistecca steak - they are excellent! Everything is freshly cooked and the service staff is efficient and friendly. Lunch was so good that we went again in a couple days time. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best value for money in Florence”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This place is a jewel. Always incredibly busy...best to get there no later than 11.45am....and wait for the kitchen to thump three times on the counter to say service can start! It's only open for lunch, and the food quality is amazing, and so cheap. You have to cram in family style, but it's fun. Love it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Delicious lunch”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Very good authentic food here in an informal but very busy trattoria. Queue up outside at lunchtime and when there's a space sit at a table with other dinners. Excellent tagliatelli ragu. Great fun

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have been lucky enough to sample the atmosphere and food at Mario's. We managed to arrive at around 11.40 and were invited in to a small table. Bread arrived and we ordered a litre of the house red. This kept us 'in the mood' up until 12 o'clock when service begins. The kitchen is tiny and the restaraunt is crammed with tables but the service is efforteless and the staff work together like a well oiled machine. The food started to arrive, fantastic local dishes of braised fennel, flagio beans, roast lamb, the 1.5kg T bone steaak (awesome), ravioli cooked with braised leeks, a refreshing salad and all topped of with Vin Santo and biscotti. We left the place very, very happy. We paid 110euro for a superb meal. Don't expect anything flash, just great flavours and well cooked local dishes and if you arrive after 12 expect to wait outside, I would reccomend you do. It looks as if the locals are well served with a room in the back just for them, I guess it keeps the food honest, the front of house is full of us (tourists that is). The staff are fantastic, as busy as it is they relish a chat and are clearly proud of what they have. A great meal, next time i'm in Florence I will return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Mario also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing