We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch place in Florence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Mario

Trattoria Mario
Via Rosina, 2r | Corner of Piazza del Mercato Centrale, 50123, Florence, Italy (San Lorenzo)
+39 055 21 85 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 2,362 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Description: From 1st March 1953. We are open only for lunch, we haven't the freezer, we don't make reservation. No credit card and bancomat. ATTENZIONE SIAMO APERTI SOLO A PRANZO DAL LUNEDI AL SABATO COMPRESI E CHIUSI LA DOMENICA E TUTTI I GIORNI FESTIVI OLTRE AL MESE DI AGOSTO PER FERIE. NO BRUNCH NO COLAZIONI NO CONSEGNA NO CENA NO DOPO MEZZANOTTE.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best lunch place in Florence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Take a look at the handwritten menu before entering as you are not given a menu once seated (there is one hanging on the wall near the kitchen as well). Next, be prepared to sit with other diners, and finally, get ready to eat some of the best food you're likely to ever eat for a super cheap price!
We went two days in a row because it's just that good. Both days, we got the pollo arrosto and non-meat pasta of the day and quatro litro of wine. The first day we were lucky to get one of very few portions of sauteed spinach (mouth watering) before they ran out. The couple who were seated with us ordered maybe 5 min. later and it was already gone (and the restaurant had just opened).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lives4Travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Deliciously Interesting...?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went here based on the reviews and since it was rather close to our hotel.

We arrived around 12:30 and only had a 10 minute wait... Having a wait was rather impressive since the many other restaurants near by had people standing out front trying to sell people on coming in.

We were excited when our seat was called, then we noticed that we were going to sit with a small 4 person table...with 2 other people who were eating VERY rare steaks. I thought it was comical, my wofe didnt really though. her expressions were priceless. I actually found it impressive that they could get away with this as a common practice. Their food had to be amazing and it was.

I wasn't in the mood for a steak, but they looked amazing. I ordered Penne Bolognese and it was outstanding. No tomato sauce. All meat and spices. I mopped up what was left with their delicious bread. My wife for the Caprese which was what we expected...

Overall, if you go here knowing what to expect... It's definitely worth the visit. Bon appetit!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Great food and reasonable prices. Get there early (before they open) if you don't want to wait. We got the last few seats and shared a table with another party

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very Good Food & Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very professional. Local dishes. Homemade pasta. Tender Bisteca Fiorentina. Tender fagioli bianchi. Good wine & bred. Quick service. Very small tables we share with other people. Friendly atmosphere. Visible Kitchen. Good prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goumaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“La Dolce Vita (in a shoe-box)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This is the true global fusion of all admirers of italian food, from queen's to peasant's and from East to West / North to South. Though the restaurant is small, and equally are the tables, the atmosphere is amazing. The food is divine regardless what one choose. Of course one should order the "bistecca fiorentina". The staff and service are just great and unpretentious. And yes you may have to wait a while for lunch but it is absolutely worthwhile.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henk d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Mario also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing