We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Gustavino

Gustavino
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Gustavino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 2,751 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Duomo
Description: Gustavino restaurant and wine bar in Florence presents the Tuscan cuisine reinterpreted using raw materials of high quality, served in a stylish modern design and sophisticated. Particular attention is paid to the wine list which offers a choice of hundreds of labels with the best of Tuscan and Italian production. Try our specialties like noodles blacks at sea urchin and pesto, beef tenderloin with red onion marmalade or beef tartare with mustard sauce. In our daily menu includes gluten-free dishes, reservation you can prepare full meals with pasta / rice and bread.aged florentine steak.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled into this place after our first choice was fully booked. We were greeted and served by a friendly waitress. The menu was unique--not your standard pastas and meat choices--but limited. I had a very good cheese ravioli with a pear sauce that was delicious. Portions are a bit small. Ordered a mixed greens salad to start that had salt on it (not what I expected) but it seems that in Florence, they love salt. Ordered a bottle of wine which was sent back because it was past its prime (about 15 years old and stored upright from the dust on the bottle), the next one was also bad (cork was dry) and finally the third was good. No complaints from the waitress at all about the wines, though, and she graciously changed them each time. Overall, I would go back here again just for the great service and unique menu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,401
    511
    167
    74
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansund, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best pasta I've had!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Walked by this cozy yet modern restaurant and just had to give it a try. It was so cool that we could see into the kitchen from the street! Try the pasta with ricotta cheese and pear sauce. You wont be sorry. The whole experience was truly wonderful and they topped it off with an amazing cheesecake. Thanks so much for one of the best meals I've had during my two months in Italy! Bravo

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank verathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Found this restaurant by accident, liked the look of the menu and decided to eat there. We were a group of four.
The food was local and excellent - the wine was also local and extremely good.
Overall fantastic meal, and not prohibitively expensive either.
Would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MistyGLEN1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Shout out to Cosimo and Leonard...”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

2 fantastic meals/outstanding service at Gustavino. Not surprisingly, this restaurant came highly recommended by the front desk at our hotel Firenze Number Nine. I can't recall off the top of my head all the dishes we had, but some of the highlights were the mixed salad, octopus salad, a vegetarian pasta dish, beef filet (rare), and liter after liter of red wine (probably explains why I currently have the memory of Jason Bourne). Our servers Cosimo and Leonard really went the extra mile - incredibly friendly and attentive, they really made our dinners memorable. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A relaxing lunch with great food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place is nearby piazza Signore and only a few steps from our hotel. Every time we passed by, it was very quiet and slow and we were hesitated to try until today that we were so tired and did not want to go far for lunch! The restaurant is a pleasant surprise offering interesting menu, different from the traditional tourist menu! We ordered grilled octopus and pasta with sea urchin, both are very good, highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wang_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gustavino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gustavino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing