We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The croissants must be from Paris”
Review of Finisterrae

Finisterrae
Reserve with
Finisterrae is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #305 of 2,712 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Description: Ristorante Mediterraneo, Pizzeria Napoletana, Caffetteria Fiorentina, Pasticceria, Gelateria Siciliana
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The croissants must be from Paris”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

These are some of the best croissants I have had anywhere in the world, even better than some of the places in Paris. Sorry Paris. The pastries are also quite delicious for an afternoon pick me up, before, or after Santa Croce.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank keepmovin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    398
    112
    55
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great honest food, good service”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Visted at lunch time, many local customers (always a good sign) outside seating overlooks the town square. Great freshly prepared lunch with local wine at resonable price, so good we returned for dinner yet another good experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Tuscan fare with a view”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I had the pasta ragú for a nice Tuscan lunch. The bruschetta was probably the BEST I've had in my short 4 months in country The staff were friendly enough, but remember that this is on a very bustling Piazza, so don't expect a more 'jovial' waiter that you would most likely find away from the tourist spots.

Helpful?
1 Thank AmericInvader S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly waiter, clean, great pizza and chianti”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This cafe and ice cream parlor is in Piazza Santa Croce which a lot of the ship tours use as the ending meeting place before walking back to the buses. This cafe was recommended on the map the tour guide handed out. We dined outside under a tent, the food was served quickly, the waiter understood english well, the prices were fair, there was WIFI but not their's, the chianti was good. We wanted the big bottle of water but the waiter said they were out of them and only had the small size which made it more expensive. If they are not going to carry the big size, they should cross it off the menu. Overall, a very pleasant lunch and we would go there again. Too filled up for the ice cream but it looked great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, great pizza”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sitting right on the beautiful Piazza Santa Croce I was, to be honest, expecting a bit of a tourist trap. But pleasant surprise: very friendly service and simply a very good pizza. Great taste, fresh toppings, and all this (great location AND great food) for just around €9 (november 2012).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRussell, General Manager at Finisterrae, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about the restaurant. We are lucky to be situated in this amazing square, but it also brings responsability in looking after our customers and also providing value for money as well as a quality product. Thank you again, colin russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finisterrae also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Finisterrae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing