We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Go”

Restaurante Il Latini
Ranked #596 of 2,787 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
Description: Around the tables of "Il Latini" friendships are interwoven, all the world's languages are spoken, fervent discussions are held and everyone tastes food that has the flavour of the old times past. Il Latini means tradition: a means of discovering Tuscany and its people. The kitchen is where the best products of Tuscany's countryside are turned into the dishes typical of the tuscan tradition. Il Latini's kitchen was originally the kitchen of Narciso's wife, who used to take the dishes from her home to the cellars in Palazzo Rucellai where tables were set. Sora Maria's cooking was made of ingredients and flavours typical of tuscan cuisine, simple and genuine food that nowadays are still a characteristic of the restaurant. The flood in Florence did not spare the tavern, which continued nevertheless to serve warm dishes Florentine citizens among the muddy streets.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Worst meal of our trip. This place has become the McDonald's of Italian food. The service is so abrupt - you are herded i to the restaurant like cattle, thrown a menu and then shouted at by waiters to order. The chairs are uncomfortable, too low for the tables and the rooms are utterly unappealing.

The food is incredibly mediocre. Eatable by you do not want to waste an evening of your trip at this tourist trap. We do understand it was once great but sadly it isn't great now.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank curlycue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (7,307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 516 of 7,307 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2016

Typical canteen itaiana. Place lively and cheerful. No place for those who do not like noise. Waiters serve promptly but always gay fashion and talking loudly. The food is very good and the portions are plentiful. Excellent program.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jose Guilherme N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

This is a place frequented by both locals and tourists. The food is good but the atmosphere is very rushed. Everyone is running, plates are thrown on the table. This is regardelss of if you are local or tourist so thats more of the style. The food served is rustic tuscan style and the prices are fairly good. Not your choice for a romantic dinner though.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank spinnars
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

This is a must restaurant if you want to have a good meat meal. There roast beef is outstanding and everything in the restaurant seems to come from the family farms including the wines - the red was very good too. It is a family affairs with the owners in attendance but had been there for years. You can queue for tables during peak season but don't let that put you off. Worth it really.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 108HelenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016

My family of 4 dinned there yesterday, and after several prior visits the quality vs there charge for the all you can eat meal have really declined(quality) and increased(charge). We paid 240 euros for 2 adults and 2 kids - by far one of the worst meals we had in Florence. Soup was luke warm, streak was extra fatty, beans were cold..... The other experiences we had here were great, not this time. Felt like they were doing me a favor to serve me dinner, I'm taking my business elsewhere.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AR-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Il Latini also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Restaurante Il Latini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.