We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good!”

Restaurante Il Latini
Ranked #403 of 2,680 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Duomo
Description: Around the tables of "Il Latini" friendships are interwoven, all the world's languages are spoken, fervent discussions are held and everyone tastes food that has the flavour of the old times past. Il Latini means tradition: a means of discovering Tuscany and its people. The kitchen is where the best products of Tuscany's countryside are turned into the dishes typical of the tuscan tradition. Il Latini's kitchen was originally the kitchen of Narciso's wife, who used to take the dishes from her home to the cellars in Palazzo Rucellai where tables were set. Sora Maria's cooking was made of ingredients and flavours typical of tuscan cuisine, simple and genuine food that nowadays are still a characteristic of the restaurant. The flood in Florence did not spare the tavern, which continued nevertheless to serve warm dishes Florentine citizens among the muddy streets.
Belluno, Italy
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not good!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Restaurant not good, tourist trap. You eat with others, too close. The kitchen is not the best. Then it is really too expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancyMV66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,145
    1,806
    795
    391
    371
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is one of the most interesting restaurants we have ever been in. I hate queuing but my wife made me queue (they don't take reservations) and it was well worth it. Good Italian food and wine and value for money. Would recommend it to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabraperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pure tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Pure tourist trap.
Three times asked for menu, then waitor had thrown two lists on the table (there were three of us).
After we went away.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mediocre food at best, and pricing is a scam”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Highly overrated restaurant. The massive crowd and line outside leads one to believe that the food must be amazing, but it is passable at best. There are no menus or prices, which I originally thought would be fine. I'm usually a fan of tasting menus and thought that the waiter would determine a reasonable charge based on consumption. Our table of six started with appetizers. Each of us had a plate of prosciutto, some polenta cakes, bruschetta, and stuffed mushrooms. The polenta cakes were dry and unappetizing, and the food generally looked like it had been sitting out for a long time. Then big bowls of pasta came out, which were obviously mass produced in buckets. We barely touched it. Then we had a plate of roasted meat – pork, prime rib, lamb, chicken. The idea of variety was great, but everything was just dry and tasteless. The waiter was very friendly and kept telling us he would do something special for us, and give us wine, which sounded like a nice touch, until the end when it was time to pay.

He told the owner what we had (probably including the items he said were “special” for us), and the owner tallied the bill to 270 Euros, or 45 Euros a person. We tried paying by credit card, and then the waiter came back and said that he did the math wrong and that it was actually 320 Euros total. Since there was absolutely no menu and no pricing, we could not argue.

Il Latini was a total rip-off. I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jenn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Has become a parody of itself.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

It seems that in every major city there is a restaurant which used to be really excellent, with charm, super food and wide popularity amongst the locals. Naturally, eventually, these places get discovered by tourists and tour books and word spreads and boom--the place goes beyond being a restaurant. It becomes a place to go because one must go. Luckily, for Da Il Latini, many of the diners are Italian (or, at least, lucky for foreigners who don't want to dine only with other foreigners), but, upon closer inspection, almost all of them seemed to be Italian tourists visiting Florence. In this sense, going to Il Latini is like going to Duke's in Honolulu, or Cafe Du Monde in New Orleans.

In other words, Il Latini is a tourist attraction as much as a restaurant.

The food is odd, as is the dining experience. The tables are very close together (like, a few inches apart). Indeed, some couples sit at 4 tops with strangers right next to them. The menu is so simple as to be awkward; basically, you can choose from about 5 different huge chunks of meat. Now, that said, the meat is good. But, let's just say, that if you are going to an expensive dinner, you could do a lot better.

When you return from Florence, you will be asked by anyone who has ever been there if you went to Il Latini. I suppose how much value one places in being able to answer this question in the affirmative is a major factor in deciding whether to dine here. In fact, it may well be the only factor.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asruderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Il Latini also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Restaurante Il Latini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing