We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Was OK”
Review of Casa del Vino

Casa del Vino
Ranked #545 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It Was OK”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We went to this bar on a sleety February day so it was great to get out of the cold. We planned to go here based on the reviews in TA so expectations were high. We found the room to be quite small with only 1 table where you cold eat (3 people). Bottles of wine surrounded the room which gave the room a good vibe. We had 2 glasses of wine which were very good value at only €3 per glass. The couple that run this place spoke perfect English and were very welcoming and chatty to everyone in the room and we were told this was the oldest wine bar in Florence. It's worth a visit but its a small wine bar at the end of the day.

Helpful?
1 Thank SpammyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    34
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Genuine”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This wonderful tiny bar/ enoteca is the perfect place to stop from the hustle and bustle from San Lorenzo Market ( it does get tiring ) and have a glass or two of your favorite wine plus why not indulge in some Tuscan Pâté over crostinis or a mixed plate of all the cold offerings ? EVERYTHING is excellent as well as the prices. Gianni and his lovely wife are always ready to serve and offer the genuine Florentine experience . Not to be missed !! Every time I am in Florence , I make appoint in visiting daily !!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocelyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Real Florence”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A small bar that the locals use all day long. They pop in for a bite to eat and a glass of wine. We saw it, feels a bit strange walking in as it is so not touristy, but we ended up going twice in one day. 10 Euros for 2 glasses of great local wine and a bread and cheese board. Sit, relax, drink and listen to the locals chatting, laughing and living Tuscan life. If you only visit 1 bar in Florence make it this one. You will find nothing more authentic or so friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank theTodds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Defines my time in Firenze”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Every Saturday afternoon, I walk past the street vendors of San Lorenzo, find a little opening between two carts, sneak through and arrive at my home away from home... Casa del Vino, a traditional Florentine wine shop/wine bar.
About the size of a bedroom, it's amazing how many people can squeeze themselves in and enjoy bottles (not just glasses) of wine. The most beautiful thing about this place is the simplicity. There are two people behind the bar, the owners Gianni and Nicoletta. The walls are filled with bottles and bottles of various vintages, of which Gianni can tell you a story about each bottle. Nicoletta prepares panini any way you want, the ingredients are prepared fresh every afternoon. Your choices laid out on the counter before you; piles of fresh bread, a slab of uncut prosciutto, salami, mortadella, bowls of various marinated vegetables, cheese in all forms.
This is a true Florentine experience that you'll be happy to be a part of.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank zattissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“the best!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

i think we came here 4 times on our recent jolly. The reason was that it is authentic, used by locals , cheap and above all sells great nibbles and lovely wine. And its cheap too. Lovely glass of chilled quality prosecco 3 euros. And you can sit in because its not rammed all the time . So there you have it, the best enoteca in florence! [ better than that other one!! ]

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pistols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa del Vino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Casa del Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing