We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Couscous falafel kebab” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amon - CLOSED

Amon
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Couscous falafel kebab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent little place and very affordable! Couscous on Friday and weekends, 4.50€ falafel at 3€ . They make their own bread, the shwaorma they make themselves, most places it comes frozen, NOT HERE! They make everything from the bread, to the falafels, to the hummus, or other spreads, try the coconut cake...It's out of this world! Very kind and generous family!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aviravir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“excellent excellent excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

excellent food, excellent price, excellent location..... what more can i say.... yes. Amon kebab shop is a small hole in the hole take away joint... but what it lacks in character it makes up for it 100x in food and price.... 5 of us ate until we could not stand up.... total bill 35 euros..... we tried everything and everything was great... they say Amon was the 1st Kebab shop to open in the city center of Firenze..... and it shows... very friendly owner.. i will return when i return to this beautiful city...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveGoerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
“Real Kebab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Sliced off a leg of veal instead of a log of processed meat and stuffed into a warm homemade pita with a nice thick hummus made fresh daily! Also, it's only 3.50 euro, making it an incredible food quality for the price from the awesome little hole-in-the-wall joint :D

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loryn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Fantastic felafel in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The lovely owner and his wife sell the most lovely felafel I've ever had, in home-made pitta bread. Really nice little restaurant, and at 3 euros per felafel sandwich, you can't really beat it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really good falafel and baklava”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have to say, the first time I visited this place I was a little wary. It looks very "kebab" and I was worried I would get sick since that's happened to me a few times in Florence. Honestly, even on a Tuesday night it was filled with Italians and foreigners alike stopping by to grab a kebab or curry, veggies and rice and going on with their night. We grabbed falafal kebabs in the best bread I have ever had, inside were veggies, fresh hummus, yogurt sauce and spicy sauce. It was really really good. Plus the baklava is another form of heaven on it's own. Grab your food and go to Piazza Santa Maria Novella to eat. Also a bonus? It's super cheap. I'm craving it again just writing about it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GirlInFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amon also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Settignano, Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing