We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch”
Review of Da Ganino

Da Ganino
Ranked #126 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Duomo
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We chose Da Ganino for lunch on the basis of the positive reviews on the Trip Advisor Florence App and were not disappointed. We didn't book in advance and were lucky enough to be seated outside where we could people watch in the Piazza Cimatori. The food was excellent - taglietelli with meat sauce and Florentine ricotta balls. Service was prompt and friendly. Good value for money and would recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J3ff_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    272
    54
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The food is good but the service is terrible”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The waitress was already grudgingly because I was alone and asked to sit outside. She tried to put me on a table inside but I insisted to stay outside. I was ordering and I just wanted to eat meat and drink a glass of wine, so she asked me completely rude if I wasn't ordering anything else, as to order more food were my obligation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RodrigoGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable price”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

As starters We had a Fresh Tuscan vegetable soup and Maremanni Porcine (Ravioli). Both were outstanding. The main courses were also delicious: a risotto with truffles and the steak with Gorgonzola. The Panna cotta and the tiramisu were amongst the best we have eaten so far on our trip through Italy

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Koen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best Lunch In Italy”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We found this restaurant by accident & could not have been happier! It was mid June & one of the hottest days on our trip. We sat outside under an awning & near a fan (one of the few fans in Italy) ~ It was perfect! The wait staff was excellent & attentive.

I ordered a Pear & Gorgonzola Salad ~ the best cheese I have ever tasted. We ate & drank like Italians for over three hours.

This by far was one of the Best Experiences on our trip. Thank You Da Ganino, we will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, service not so much”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We ate here last year and had two very good meals. On a return visit this year, my friend's purse was stolen while we were eating lunch outside. There was an accordion player who was very aggressive and we think that he may have been distracting us while someone behind us stole the purse. The staff/owner was not very helpful - asked us if we were sure the purse was stolen! While this was not the restaurant's fault, it definitely ruined our meal and doubt we'll ever return. The food was still good, but recommend you sit inside and be wary of the accordion players!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Ganino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Da Ganino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing