We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff”
Review of Antico Fattore

Antico Fattore
Reserve with
Antico Fattore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #111 of 2,711 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Description: A typically old school Florence trattoria, Antico Fattore is an original taste of the city's history, dating back to 1929. In this era local creatives would flock to Antico Fattore on a Wednesday to be fed by proprietor and local character Giulio. Giulio may be long gone, along with many of his historic patrons, but the convivial Antico Fattore atmosphere remains. In this old building, where an original wooden beamed ceiling remains and modern design is only of fleeting concern, guests continue to flock to enjoy lingering glasses of wine, intelligent conversation and superb Italian food. The renowned recipes have been handed down and remain as much part of the restaurant's history as past patrons.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The first that suprised me about this place that they have a menu in Turkish.
We had a steak and it was good.
If you are planning to go there dont forget to make a resevation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Serkan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,563
    768
    178
    73
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Loved the food, loved the experience”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Eating in Florence is about more than the food - you expect the service and the environment to live up to your expectations of a great experience and the 'Antico Fattore' did it well. The waiters were attentive, the food served quickly, a great wine was recommended and the food was great. We both had meat dishes - scallopine and osso bucco - without a first course or antipasto and it was more than filling. The small lovely setting of the restaurant in a sidestreet reminded you that you were in Florence but provided sufficient peace away from the hordes of tourists that fill Florence at this time of the year. The Antico Fattore is well worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthmumPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'd rather have fish and chips”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The worst dining experience in Florence/Tuscany. Two bowls of soup, a crostene tuscane from a tin, and pelligrino was €50. The bread soup tasted like it came from the bottom of the pot and the crostini topping tasted tinned. The waiter gave us a bad look for ordering no wine and there was a €5 cover.

It was simply the worst place to eat in the city and area. Please do not waste your time, money, stomach on this trattoria.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gruffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I recently found this restaurant two blocks from the Ponte Vecchio, quite by accident. We were very pleased with the traditional Tuscan menu for dinner. The waiter was extremely friendly and assisted us with our menu and choice of wine. We were both so pleased with the experience and would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Very Good, Not a "tourist" restaurant.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Found this place by accident as it was down a back lane from our hotel. Each evening when we passed it was full, buzzing and very popular. We decided to give it a try and although we had no reservation we found that our dodgy Italian and the waiter's very moderate English he found us a little table. There is very little to appease the tourist, the waiters seem to not speak English and the menu is only in Italian but this just added to the charm.

It was a lovely restaurant, all of the food we had, from the bruschetta and soup to start with and to the steak in pepper sauce, to the wine and the dessert, it was all top notch stuff. Nothing overly fancy, just good Italian food made by Italians, served by Italians and in an Italian restaurant.

Our waiter was very good and although there was a slight language barrier, we got by. We did found in Florence that many English speaking tourists do not even bother to try to speak some basic Italian and just spout off loudly in their own versions of the English language and they may have a problem here. We did not, and spent a very pleasing evening surrounded by Italian people doing what Italian people like to do.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The Fat Punter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antico Fattore also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Antico Fattore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing