We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Restaurant in Florence”
Review of Ora d'Aria

Ora d'Aria
Ranked #469 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $173
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Description: If you fancy a break from the hustle and bustle of Florence, take the plunge and book yourself a table at Ora d'Aria in the Via Ghibellina. Decorated in shades of vanilla, this elegant restaurant is a welcome escape from the tourist trail, and Head Chef Marco Stabile has created a menu which features the best culinary traditions from the region. Sit back and relax as dishes such as the spaghetti with cuttlefish drizzled with extra virgin olive oil; Piedmontese steak with garlic chips and panzella salad; and black cod with a Tuscan bean and onion salad give you an authentic taste of Tuscany in stylish surrounds. Ora d'Aria's impressive wine list features an excellent selection of Tuscan and French wines.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb Restaurant in Florence”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A terrific restaurant, right near the Ponte Vecchio, with great food (a Michelin star!), but moderate prices for the quality. Modern inside, and small, the restaurant features an innovative menu and wonderful, professional, and knowledgeable service. Get a reservation, as it gets booked quickly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PierreLeGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    167
    96
    54
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
192 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We did not have the Tasting Menu but chose our dishes a la carte. We did not enjoy anything. We are major "foodies" and travel for food. This time we made the wrong choice. It is a small restaurant, very modern, quite interesting and good to see an open kitchen. I think many people are there to be "seen" rather than enjoy a good meal. This restaurant is trying too hard to be something it is not.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal of my life ....”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The new holder of the "best meal of my life" award. We had the Tuscan tasting menu. Difficult to pick a favorite course, but likely either the chick pea soup or the cocoa flour pasta stuffed with ricotta. The service was outstanding. You really do need reservations and they don't take online reservations; we were incredibly lucky to just walk by as the place was opening for the evening and there happened to be an opening.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JJQ_Pgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“have the Chef's menu”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We went their at the suggetion of our Trip arranger, TrufflePig.

we had the tasting menu. It was terrific. We had a table right beside the kitchen. There is a glass wall separating the restaurant from the kitchen. We had the pleasure of seeing all the meals prepared. They are all brought to the table by Mario.

The food was very inventive and all quite good. We had something called the Hen, the Egg and then something else.. all fantastic. Well served and well prepared.

With a nice bottle of wine it was a 200 euro night.. high end to be sure, but we enjoyed it imensely.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank skiboatdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“too clinical”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Florence is a great flamboyant city with many interesting places to eat. You cannot fault the food here or indeed the service but a great restaurant is about much more than that.It is all a bit stark for me and with that comes a lack of atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ora d'Aria also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ora d'Aria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing