We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if budget is your main concern!”
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #329 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Only if budget is your main concern!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel merits its single star. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, but the management is anything but. I was told upon arrival that my room would be in another building, in another street altogether, which is quite inconvenient as there are no hotel staff in the "annexe", which is called B&B Montebello, and when you check in and out you have to schlep your bags back and forth to the main hotel. The toilet in my room never properly flushed, and when mentioned it was met with a hapless shrug and a smile, although they did fix the blocked shower drain on the first day. The breakfast is vile and entirely composed of junk food - skip it and find something decent in one of the many local cafes.

Room Tip: If you are exiled to the "annexe" of the hotel, you will probably get a better night of sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogadeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    23
    12
    19
See reviews for
10
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is located in an ancient town house with little to no improvements. If you don't care about for more than a roof over your head and a good night's sleep, it will do. The price includes breakfast, which is one of the few perks.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one next to the shared bathroom. It was not quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreeapopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent one night in Florence. We booked a double room at Hotel Garden, but when we arrived we were sent to another hotel because our room was apparently flooded. While reading other reviews, we noticed that the same excuse was given to others at various points in time. Either they have a big issue with the plumbing or they overbook and send people to other locations on a regular basis. The room we were given was in another hotel 5 minutes away, Hotel Patrizia. This one was located in an old and dirty building, at the 3rd floor. Old furniture, dirty walls, terrible amenities, nothing we would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hoten Garden is interesting, quite well located in terms of parking, it might be the only hotel in the center to provide free parking (on street), easy to find, rooms were very spacious. We had a double room but four people could easily sleep there. There si a outside garden terrace, nice for hang out. Bathrooms however were not very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maiklcz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

i've spent 3 nights in this hotel earlier this month with my friend. the location is good, a bus C2 stops next to the hotel and we've actually used it only twice since florence is quiet a compact city that you can do it only by walking. the breakfast was good (loved the cappucino). room was very spacious and was cleaned every morning and the staff were very nice and helpful. the only problem is that it lacks a lift and with luggage it was quiet a nightmare to take it to the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saksaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

After staying 1 night in Pisa,we took a bus to Florence,staying in Hotel Garden. We walked from from the train station to the hotel was quite a walk when you have bigger lugguages but okay with trolley bags. I wouls recommend to take the tram from the train station with only one stop. This hotel is not really a hotel for its standard. We paid 65 Euros for a double-room with shared bathroom. I booked 2 double-rooms and to our horror,we got our rooms st the very top again. This hotel has no elevators and going up to 4 th floor,isn`t fun at all with the big bags. The bathrooms are big but the shower-rooms are small and the water-hole are clogged in both bathrooms at the top floor where one has to stand in a pool of water when taking a shower,very unpleasant really. If one wants a cheap stay,I would recommend this hotel otherwise find a better one somewhere nearer to city center. Breakfast is simple with prepacked croissant etc. The hotel is an old building with a little garden,free wifi but reception is very poor in the room upstairs only ground floor or at the garden or top floor near the window facing the main road. The personel speaks good English amazingly but getting infos about restaurants,buses and trams etc is negative.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaiMS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The staff were very friendly and the building was quite charming, although it had definitely seen better days, but on the whole we were rather disappointed. The room was just passable, but the bathroom was incredibly impractical: there was a deep cabinet over the washbasin which made it impossible to get your head anywhere near the washbasin and the bath was in the middle of the room, so it was impossible to take a shower without getting everyting wet.
The breakfast was appalling: only very cheap prepacked stuff.
On a more positive note, the hotel is conveniently close to the train station and the city centre and it has a garden (with, unfortunately, a lot of mosquitoes).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MvWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 412 in Florence
1,040 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#127 of 412 in Florence
787 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#89 of 412 in Florence
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Ariele Hotel
Ariele Hotel
#307 of 412 in Florence
294 reviews
Hotel Leopolda
#262 of 412 in Florence
296 reviews
AC Hotel Firenze
#157 of 412 in Florence
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Property: Hotel Garden
Address: Piazza Vittorio Veneto 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Garden 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing