We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, cheap and barely decent”
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #331 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location, cheap and barely decent”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is located in an ancient town house with little to no improvements. If you don't care about for more than a roof over your head and a good night's sleep, it will do. The price includes breakfast, which is one of the few perks.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one next to the shared bathroom. It was not quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreeapopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    23
    12
    19
See reviews for
10
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent one night in Florence. We booked a double room at Hotel Garden, but when we arrived we were sent to another hotel because our room was apparently flooded. While reading other reviews, we noticed that the same excuse was given to others at various points in time. Either they have a big issue with the plumbing or they overbook and send people to other locations on a regular basis. The room we were given was in another hotel 5 minutes away, Hotel Patrizia. This one was located in an old and dirty building, at the 3rd floor. Old furniture, dirty walls, terrible amenities, nothing we would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hoten Garden is interesting, quite well located in terms of parking, it might be the only hotel in the center to provide free parking (on street), easy to find, rooms were very spacious. We had a double room but four people could easily sleep there. There si a outside garden terrace, nice for hang out. Bathrooms however were not very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maiklcz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

i've spent 3 nights in this hotel earlier this month with my friend. the location is good, a bus C2 stops next to the hotel and we've actually used it only twice since florence is quiet a compact city that you can do it only by walking. the breakfast was good (loved the cappucino). room was very spacious and was cleaned every morning and the staff were very nice and helpful. the only problem is that it lacks a lift and with luggage it was quiet a nightmare to take it to the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saksaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

After staying 1 night in Pisa,we took a bus to Florence,staying in Hotel Garden. We walked from from the train station to the hotel was quite a walk when you have bigger lugguages but okay with trolley bags. I wouls recommend to take the tram from the train station with only one stop. This hotel is not really a hotel for its standard. We paid 65 Euros for a double-room with shared bathroom. I booked 2 double-rooms and to our horror,we got our rooms st the very top again. This hotel has no elevators and going up to 4 th floor,isn`t fun at all with the big bags. The bathrooms are big but the shower-rooms are small and the water-hole are clogged in both bathrooms at the top floor where one has to stand in a pool of water when taking a shower,very unpleasant really. If one wants a cheap stay,I would recommend this hotel otherwise find a better one somewhere nearer to city center. Breakfast is simple with prepacked croissant etc. The hotel is an old building with a little garden,free wifi but reception is very poor in the room upstairs only ground floor or at the garden or top floor near the window facing the main road. The personel speaks good English amazingly but getting infos about restaurants,buses and trams etc is negative.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaiMS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The staff were very friendly and the building was quite charming, although it had definitely seen better days, but on the whole we were rather disappointed. The room was just passable, but the bathroom was incredibly impractical: there was a deep cabinet over the washbasin which made it impossible to get your head anywhere near the washbasin and the bath was in the middle of the room, so it was impossible to take a shower without getting everyting wet.
The breakfast was appalling: only very cheap prepacked stuff.
On a more positive note, the hotel is conveniently close to the train station and the city centre and it has a garden (with, unfortunately, a lot of mosquitoes).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MvWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

All in all, you get what you pay for. It was a cheap hotel which was reflected in the rooms. We were fortunate in that we had a private bathroom which was massive and the shower was pretty good. However, the room was huge and poorly furnished with two noticable "soft spots" in the floor that we thought we may fall through on a couple of occaisions. Apparently the hotel was previously a palace, and has great potential however the way it is at the present time we would not return.
Having said that, we could not fault the staff who were extremely helpful and pleasant. We booked for a tour which was due to start at 8- so that we could have breakfast prior to the tour, one of the staff organised for the breakfast room to be opened early for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Ariele Hotel
Ariele Hotel
#307 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#129 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Casa del Lago
Casa del Lago
#275 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#93 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Lungarno Vespucci 50
Lungarno Vespucci 50
#179 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Property: Hotel Garden
Address: Piazza Vittorio Veneto 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Garden 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing