We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garden
Ranked #333 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Parking space: at the bus stop. It is more like a cheap hostel than a hotel. Very warm and smelly, old-fashioned building. Beds are very uncomfortable. Not talking about the cleanness - doesn't exist. Mosquitoes, noise (close to the main road). Cheap prepacked breakfast. It would not be a problem if they don't ask a normal hotel price for one night.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 90 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and I liked it. The hotel is c.10min by foot from the train/ bus station, hence well connected to other towns, if you want to travel around a bit. There is also the tourist information and a stop for the touristy buses or take the local bus for the cheap option to discover the city. Florence is not that large, hence you can easily walk everywhere.

Its a large town house with lots of rooms. They are furnished with old/ antique furniture, which gives the place its own charm. You share the bathroom, but have a sink in your room as well. All is very clean. Breakfast is typical Italian style, a sweet bun, jam and a nice pot/s of coffee. Have it in the garden, its really relaxing there. The staff was really friendly, ask for a recommendation of a local osteria!!!

Nice place, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerstinCoulibaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

If you need a room and nowhere else has space, I would go ahead and book here for an affordable price. We were not impressed overall. The location was poor and the community bathrooms were a bummer (one of the two showers you have to turn off every 20 seconds so that it doesn't overflow). Also, our room could have been much cleaner and there was only wifi in the lobby. However, the outdoor area is decent and the breakfast wasn't bad.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARN101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I really like my stay at the Hotel Garden (December '11). Remember: it's a 1 star hotel (and hostel).I paid 16€ per night, breakfast incluses + 1€/night tourist fee. The staff was extremely kind. I booked a 4-bed dorm and I was alone for 2 nights out of 3. The room was huge(approximately 30 m2) and clean. The position was perfect for me: in front of the conference center Leopolda where I had my business meeting, 30min on foot from the Duomo (downtown), 10min from the train station SMN (or 1min by tram). Breakfast was very good too (for that price!): bread, soft cheese, hot drinks, cereals, yogurt, packed croissant, cold milk, orange juice. There are restaurants and pizzerias in the nearby, no clubs or pubs. Negative: there are just 3 bathrooms; the shower drains were a bit clogged. Also, Internet works only in the lobby, but at least it's free!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAchiaraVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Location is NOT, as advertised, a 5-10 minute jaunt into town. It took us, when walking at a pace, about half an hour. The hotel is not in a particularly nice area; there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity and we felt a little bit unsafe at night. The room was admittedly large but extremely sparsely furnished with one tiny window that proved utterly inadequate to let any light into our room. The bathroom next door was also extremely noisy. The shower was sporadic at best, and only managed a lukewarm trickle when it did come on at all. Breakfast was mediocre, with truly appalling coffee. We also had extremely serious problems with the staff; we changed the length (partly due to the conditions of this hotel) of our stay to 3 nights instead of 4. Despite giving them more than the required 48 hours of notice, we were repeatedly told that it would not be possible for us to check out a day early without losing our money. As we actually checked the terms and conditions that the hotel stated on the internet, it was quite clear that the staff were trying to swindle us out of an extra night's stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny_number9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

This hotel has the best location in Florence! It is in walking distance of great food and shopping. The staff is helpful. Very clean and comfortable

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronbrown97113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

The worst hotel that we have in our trip in Italy. It was dirty, the staff has charged money for 2 days instead of one. They are swindler and pilferers, they charged money ones in cache and didn't gave us the check, and second time through credit card without our confirmation about 3 hours after we have left hotel. So I would strongly recommend to not stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rishap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 410 in Florence
2,960 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Florence Metropole
#152 of 410 in Florence
2,110 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Address: Piazza Vittorio Veneto 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Garden 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing