We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy Labor Day weekend”

L'Osteria di Giovanni
Reserve with
L'Osteria di Giovanni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 2,724 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $112
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Duomo
Description: At L’Osteria di Giovanni we not only maintain strict allegiance to traditional Tuscan dishes (including many antique recipes that are not commonly used these days), but we also experiment with new flavours and combinations, whilst remaining faithful to local and season produce. Popular new dishes include smoked duck breast on rocket salad and dressed in balsamic vinaigrette, tortelli stuffed with pear and pecorino, with leek and paprika sauce, pici with sausage and kale, and lamb slow-cooked with artichokes. We stronly believe that your restaurant experience should be unique and satisfying on every front. We look forward to welcoming you one day to L'Osteria di Giovanni.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very busy Labor Day weekend”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Packed with Italians for weekend and a large family celebrating the graduation oh their daughter. They were having a great time and it was fun to see! We got lost in the crowd. We were there for 20 minutes before we were able to order wine. Once we got waited on the food was excellent! Very fresh salad and super Pasta. Sirloin steak, not so much. I think if they were not so busy, we would have gotten better service. We had a good time anyway.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NashTravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for pointing out some weak service in such a generous and unagitated way! We are delighted it didn't affect your meal and we note what you say and will be extra attentive in the future. Thank you so much for choosing L'Osteria di Giovanni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,879
    731
    200
    53
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner at L'Osteria di Giovanni”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent a wonderful evening here with friends who live near Florence. The food was delicious, the service friendly and efficient, and the atmosphere authentic Italian and fun. My braised lamb with herbs and artichokes was especially good, and the tiramisu was so fresh it seemed like it was just made. The restaurant is very popular so don't expect a quiet evening, but I recommend it without hesitation.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank InsideScooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
You are right - "quiet" is not a good way to describe us. Lots of happy travellers chatting and laughing, lots of noisy vibrant Italians! Delighted that it worked for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service.”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Found this spot from a local review website that gave it great reviews. We were not disappointed. The staff was incredibly friendly. They had given us free soup and prosecco before our meal even began!! Had the bisteca fiorentina and others in our party had the filet and the pork. Everyone was satisfied. The roasted potatoes are amazing. The real winner was the vin santo and the biscotti dessert. Best biscotti we've ever had! You won't be sad you went.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Our biscotti are winners if we say so ourselves! Even people who don't like biscotti or sweet wine tuck away lots of the stuff at the end of a meal. Glad you loved us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“O Giovanni”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I enjoyed an exquisite Tuscan dinner in the private cellar of this well-know restaurant, spending a lovely evening soaking in its sophisticated and yet social atmosphere. The staff were responsive and very friendly, enlightening the dining experience with little jokes and complimentary vino rosso. Must-try in Florence.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yi z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We love people who love our cellar! We do! Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
146 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent service and traditional fare”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

You can't go wrong with this place a family run florentine restaurant of excellence. Families are part of famous I Latini group this place is the more authentic local experience

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
The one word that we love in this review is "experience" - just want we want it to be! Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria di Giovanni also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to L'Osteria di Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing