We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!”

L'Osteria di Giovanni
Reserve with
L'Osteria di Giovanni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 2,872 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $122
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Duomo
Description: At L’Osteria di Giovanni we not only maintain strict allegiance to traditional Tuscan dishes (including many antique recipes that are not commonly used these days), but we also experiment with new flavours and combinations, whilst remaining faithful to local and season produce. Popular new dishes include smoked duck breast on rocket salad and dressed in balsamic vinaigrette, tortelli stuffed with pear and pecorino, with leek and paprika sauce, pici with sausage and kale, and lamb slow-cooked with artichokes. We stronly believe that your restaurant experience should be unique and satisfying on every front. We look forward to welcoming you one day to L'Osteria di Giovanni.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Loved this restaurant! Had booked in advance for our group of 6 and the dining experience was well worth doing so! Every dish absolutely delicious from appetizers to deserts (and we ordered an assortment....) We followed some of the waiters recommendations and were glad we did. Wonderful open friendly service and atmosphere. Our best dining experience this trip! Highly recommend and we will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 636jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Very fantastico - glad that you all enjoyed it! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,100 - 1,104 of 3,136 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

When in Florence, you don't want to waste a meal with substandard food, wine, service, location, decor. Everything was great; I particularly liked being to make & amend the reservation by email, which was quick & responsive. Party of 4 and we all agreed it was the best meal we'd had in our 4 days in Tuscany.

Thank Aveneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Result! Glad it worked for you. We are terrified by this new technology and you can understand that Giovanni comes from another era - but we are doing our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were so lucky to eat here, our hotel recommended that we visit this restaurant and we were not disappointed. We arrived at approximately 7.45 and although we hadn't booked we were lucky to be given two seats at the long mixer table. We had a great night the food and the company were great. A big thank you to Glen and Kayne from Sydney who gave us great tips for our forthcoming trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Champagne1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We think that mixing it up is the best experience, and we understand that not everyone agrees, and generally keep people separate - but when it happens it's usually mind-blowing! Glad we didn't disappoint - high expectations scare us stupid! And thank you Glen and Kayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After a week in overpriced Florence, finally we found the place where the food matched the price. We fell in love with this place, we had to sit in the wine cellar since we forgot to book (this was a Saturday), and it was so intimate and romantic. As for the food all I have to say is that you will not regret the visit. The service was the best we've experienced in our week in Florence (except for the English bookstore... but that's a different story).

Thank Esperanza79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Overpriced Florence - we are sorry for, and slowly but surely this city is working hard not to become the next Venice!

The wine cellar is a bit special - intimate, unusual, romantic ... we love people who love our cellar!

Ok - so the English bookstore - we have to know that story. Sorry, but you cannot write "that is another story" and not write the story! Email us, write on facebook, whatever, tell us the story. And we will put it on our blog on our site. Did you know that the English bookshop is cited in Dan Brown's Inferno. Come on! Tell us the story!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had dinner here while in Florence after reading great reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The owners and staff were terrific and really add to the experience. My wife and I were welcomed with complimentary glasses of prosecco, a great bread basket and what were akin to savory deep-fried donuts that were awesome. We shared a very nice but not overpriced bottle of wine and ordered the must-have bisteca fiorentina to split. The steak came out looking perfect and then our server topped it off by pouring a bit more olive oil over it. It was one of the best meals we had while in Italy. Mid-way through our steak we were treated to complimentary fried zucchini flowers that were awesome, as well. Just when we thought we couldn't eat anything more, one of the owners came by and offered us more complimentary food: limoncello and homemade biscotti, plus some to take home. All in all, great experience for us on our last night in Florence.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

In Italian we say that raw olive oil on a steak "is it's death"! That is not negative, it means that it is the ultimate best flavour to compliment the flavour of the meat. You noticed - and that delights us! Thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria di Giovanni also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to L'Osteria di Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing