We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary and Bland.”

L'Osteria di Giovanni
Reserve with
L'Osteria di Giovanni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 2,786 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $119
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Duomo
Description: At L’Osteria di Giovanni we not only maintain strict allegiance to traditional Tuscan dishes (including many antique recipes that are not commonly used these days), but we also experiment with new flavours and combinations, whilst remaining faithful to local and season produce. Popular new dishes include smoked duck breast on rocket salad and dressed in balsamic vinaigrette, tortelli stuffed with pear and pecorino, with leek and paprika sauce, pici with sausage and kale, and lamb slow-cooked with artichokes. We stronly believe that your restaurant experience should be unique and satisfying on every front. We look forward to welcoming you one day to L'Osteria di Giovanni.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I are from Melbourne embarking on a Europe food tour and if you are a self proclaimed 'Foodie' try somewhere else.

I regret to say, since most reviews are excellent that we found it to be average and bland. If you are on the hunt for contemporary cuisine and a funky vibe you will be disappointed.

Value is good and families welcome at this primarily tourist spot.

Although we thought the food was bland and out dated, we were served to start some deep fried bread dough that truly was a guilty pleasure!

This may be the only restaurant that we found to have the opposite of what the Trip Advisor reviews suggested.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dylan_McDonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write - we really do appreciate them all. We entirely respect your opinion about our food, it is after all an opinion and we can only say that we are sorry that we disappointed you.

Funky vibes? Contemporary cuisine? Goodness no. We think that poor Giovanni would have a funny turn if anyone ever called our Osteria funky! Outdated food? Absolutely. We would rather call it traditional, in keeping with our ancient traditions and our centuries old culture. But outdated will do - it's the same concept. We belong to an Italian association that tries to keep centuries old dishes alive and well in this funky and contemporary world. So we were just not for you.

You do note that you found us the opposite of the great reviews we receive - but we are certain that no-one has ever called us funky. Really. We would have remembered!

So sorry that we were not for you - happy travels and better luck with your future dining choices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,013)
There are newer reviews for L'Osteria di Giovanni
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,099 - 1,103 of 3,013 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Our waiter Massimo was great! We were welcomed with champagne & fried pasta! We had the meat & cheese antipasta. The ricotta cheese was the best I've ever had. You could tell it was homemade. I would of been happy with just a bowl of it. My tuna steak was yummy. The lemon cake with gelato was incredible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank angelmarie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Ricotta is a hugely misunderstood cheese abroad - and ours from a local supplier has a wonderful flavour and texture that you will never find in the processed version. Glad that you noticed. And how can lemon cake and ice cream not be yummy - absolutely impossible! We are so pleased that you enjoyed it - stay with on our facebook page for news and updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

One of the best restaurants we ate at in Italy. The food was magnificent, and the wait staff were very attentive! You must visit this restaurant while you are in Florence!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Short and to the point. Love it. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Hi all, Just had dinner for three at this restaurant which I found through TripAdvisor! We walked there from Piazza Madonna degli Aldobrandini (yes, quite a mouthful). The place was busy and people were standing outside waiting to get seated. I walked in and the nice lady said 30 minutes - I said "shall I leave my name?". "No need, I will remember you." We took a walk around the area, came back and were seated. Service was fabulous, our waiter was nice and entertaining...at one point, my hubby spilled his wine and the waiter came out. cleaned up, replaced the wine glass, and placed a clean napkin where the wine spilled on his side of the table........and the food was fantastic. We order the goat cheese salad and homemade pasta with tomato sauce (one order and shared between the three of us). Oh, did I mentioned they served this great fried bread (reminded me of my mom's fried bread - filipino-style!). They gave us two orders of this - addictive.

Our main entree was the Bistecca alla Fiorentina (we ordered it raw which is the same as rare) - the waiter convinced us to order a bit larger! It's 2lbs and we got 3lbs, and we ate most of it. It was nicely seared on the outside and tender overall. A great flavor. It does come with potatoes but hardly touched them. We did order battered deep-fried squash blossoms - very tasty. Also order an nice organic chianti. We declined dessert but they served their biscotti with a sweet dessert wine. They suggested to dunk the biscotti in the wine! It was actually refreshing.

I say - go to this restaurant ---- it's worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nola51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

What a great way to start a review - by saying "hi" to all the people who will be reading your comment! Fantastic. We are glad you enjoyed your meal so much - and had a new experience dunking biscotti in vin santo! And you are right deep fried bread dough coccole are hugely addictive - but ssoooo good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

For a last dinner in Florence, I found this restaurant on Tripadvisor and emailed to see if they could fit in a table of seven that evening. The owner emailed right back and luckily they had room. It's in a small side street, but inside it's very nice. The staff all seemed to be having a great time serving people dinner, which made it a great experience. We ordered potatoes as a primi for one of my daughters because she doesn't do gluten, and after that they brought her gluten-free bread, told her every dish with and without gluten, and brought her gluten-free cake and cookies at the end- all without us mentioning anything else. The look on her face when they kept bringing her things she could eat made the whole dinner special. Dinner was good too- not the most spectacular food ever, or even in Florence, although it was quite tasty- but the service made the experience.

Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We are pleased that you had a wonderful experience. We note your comments about the food and whilst you are most kind, we will certainly take note of the comments. Daughters that don't do gluten should have a good evening too - so we were pleased to be able to take care of that one! Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria di Giovanni also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to L'Osteria di Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing