We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal of the week in Italy!!!”

L'Osteria di Giovanni
Reserve with
L'Osteria di Giovanni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 2,780 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $119
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Duomo
Description: At L’Osteria di Giovanni we not only maintain strict allegiance to traditional Tuscan dishes (including many antique recipes that are not commonly used these days), but we also experiment with new flavours and combinations, whilst remaining faithful to local and season produce. Popular new dishes include smoked duck breast on rocket salad and dressed in balsamic vinaigrette, tortelli stuffed with pear and pecorino, with leek and paprika sauce, pici with sausage and kale, and lamb slow-cooked with artichokes. We stronly believe that your restaurant experience should be unique and satisfying on every front. We look forward to welcoming you one day to L'Osteria di Giovanni.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent 5 days in Rome and today arrived in Florence. We made this reservation at the suggestion of a friend. We were overwhelmed with the quality of food, service, and value of this outstanding restaurant. We were greeted warmly and fed a magnificent meal, great wine, and complimentary vin sante with biscotti. We left happy and very satisfied. We strongly recommend this dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ciao1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Proprietario at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

And thank you so much for taking the time to say so! Come back for more biscotti whenever you are able!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,995)
There are newer reviews for L'Osteria di Giovanni
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,223 of 3,001 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I just had the most wonderful dinner at L'Osteria di Giovanni. The food was wonderful. We ordered a pasta dish shared the veal, along with a salad, Tiramisu, and several other items the wait staff brought out gratis for us to try. While the food was wonderful, the most spectacular aspect of our dinner was the service. I have been to restaurants in my life with good food, but none have approached the service of this restaurant. I was a guest not a customer.

This was my first visit to Florence. I will remember the Uffizi, the David, and L'Osteria di Giovanni.

Thank Rkboger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Proprietario at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you. We achieved our goal - and we are delighted!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had an amazing dinner for my 30th here. The food was phenomenal, wine was great and the waiter was very attentive and humorous. The owner came out after we were done and gave us a free bottle of wine for choosing their restaurant to celebrate. I'd go again in a heartbeat!

Thank NicL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Proprietario at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Well you can't be 30 twice, but 31 is good too! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just prior to Christmas 2012 we travelled from Rome to Florence by train for the day to meet up with dear Italian friends (owners of Il Borghetto Tuscan Holidays near San Gimignano). Having had a beautiful meal at Giovanni on a previous occasion we choose this place and were not disappointed. Even though there was a Christmas party in another room of the restaurant, the food and service for us was perfect. The atmosphere is one of homely relaxation and "things just happen" and never disappoint. When we arrived on a freezing Florence day the waiter produced a bottle of red and some delicious crusty bread to get us warm for the serious part of the luncheon. Perfect! Perfect timing! No fuss! Just happened! Fantastic!

The menu is typical Tuscan. Good hearty food. Refined and expansive flavours. Freshness. No pretence. Served with care, exuberance, and generosity. Not too much. But you feel amply satisfied. The wine we ordered a robust complement to the food. It's hard to say 'no' to the dolce and the liquors and amoretti biscuits when they arrive (pleased I just had to float back to the statione for a somnambulant trip back to Rome). Well worth the day trip and it felt good to host our Italian friends (who have impeccable taste in every way but particularly food and wine) to a place they could enjoy and we could all feel very relaxed in the pre-Christmas spirit.

Do look this one out when you're in Florence next. I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review - it's giving us a warm glowing feeling inside! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This restaurant had been recommended to us by a couple who had dined there the previous year. We booked a table to celebrate my boyfriends birthday and we could not have picked a better restaurant.
We had a good table taking in the entire restuarant, which was very busy but it did not impact on the service.

The food was probably in the top two of our dining experiences during our week in Italy, my boyfriend was very impressed with the food and the staff helped us celebrate his birthday along with many of the customers who came to congratulate him.

The wine complemented the food beautifully and all in all we had a wonderful evening.Thank you to all the staff who shared this lovely experience with us.

If you are in Italy you have to try this place, it beats all those other places aimed at tourists which claim to offer Italian cusine but fail miserably!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AutumnDerry40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Birthdays are special! And so is fine dining. So we are delighted that both these were great for you and your boyfriend. We sincerely hope to you see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria di Giovanni also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to L'Osteria di Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing