We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very recommendable!”
Review of Plus Florence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plus Florence
Ranked #15 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We booked the Hostel due to the very good reviews it received in different Hostel-booking sites - to find out that review we read were more than right. We had a double-en-suite for our own, which is more expensive than a bed in a dorm but really worth the extra money. The room even had a small balcony. Room was on the fourth floor - so it was very quiet. Very clean, very helpful staff. All-you-can-eat Breakfast (surcharge) was great - worth every extra-penny! Sights are not tight beside the hostal, but in confortable walking distance. Terranova Bus Stop (interesting for those taking a Ryanair-fllight to Pisa-Florence) and main Train Station are within 10 minutes walking distance, too. We loved the hostel, and very much recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noparamosquietosBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 2,557 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed in this clean and modern hostel in the rooms meant only for girls (pink walls on the hallway etc...). The hostel filled our expectations well.

Dorm room was nice and well equipped with bathroom and toilet. Since we stayed in the plus girls floor we also got a gift package containing body lotion, shampoo etc. There are lockers, but you need to bring your own padlock (though you can buy one from the reception for 3 €). Hostel has a laundry room, which we found helpful on a long trip (not cheap though, 3,50 € per machine). Even though the hostel was described to us as a party hostel, it was not a problem (we didn't hear any noise). Check the view of the city from the roof terrace bar.

The 5 € breakfast is a rip-off. Definitely not worth it. Also with a heavy backpack the location is a bit far from the train station, otherwise location is ok.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulirepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We were really impressed with this hostel.We had a private double room with ensuite.The room was a good size,clean and had a decent bathroom.We also had a small shared balcony. The roof top bar was a lovely place to relax in the evening looking out over the lights of Florence.The pool and sauna were a great bonus as well. We didn't try the dinner as we weren't impressed by the breakfast...yes it is all you can eat for €5 but selection was kinda poor. The hostel is well located within easy walking distance of the train station and all the sights.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wibblywobblyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

I heard from other backpackers that this is the best hostel they have stayed at in Europe and it certainly can see why. Plus points (in you pardon the pun!):-
Great roof terrace
Cheap bar and restaurant
Good central location
Clean rooms
Unrivalled hostel facilities

I think this hostel if great for young backpackers, maybe less so for the one trip traveller or couple looking for a cheap stay in Florence. It is incredibly noisy - all the corridors have tiled floors, as do all the rooms so not great when there is suitcase being pulled along the corridor at 3 am! We stayed in a double room, fourth floor which overlooked the main road - it is poss the busiest and noisest road in Florence. We shared a balcony with the room next door, again if you are stuck next to a party room - good luck on the sleep front!

I see that everyone raves about the food in the restaurant, I can't say it was up to much, esp the breakfast, all you can eat breakfast buffet for 5 euros sounds good but the coffee was undrinkable - a crime in Italy surely! Included in the all you can eat buffet list is brown sugar - I'm thinking they add this to extend the list of options on the menu to look impressive!

I completely agree with the other reviews, one of the most frustrating things about this hostel is the wait in reception, check in, check out, loading your card, took an absolute age.

All in all a good stay, pack the ear plugs, pray your not next to a party room and hope you catch a break at reception!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DolceVitaMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Great hostel from which to explore Florence on a budget. Well located for main station and sights. Rooms were basic but clean - don't forget your towel/ hire one. If you were staying a few days then some of the trips organised by the hostel may appeal e.g. Wine tasting in Tuscany. Apparently the swimming pool water was freezing so we chickened out but the rooftop terrace is good for catching some rays and having a few drinks.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne20Sheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

What a great experience! I was a bit worried about staying in a hostel for the 1st time, however i was proven wrong!

We had a 2 person private room with our own bathroom.....the room was big and spacious! I couldnt fault the cleanliness of the room.

The hostel is located very close to the train station (10 min walk) and within walking distance of the city. We walked everywhere!!!

Staff are very friendly and we always had everything we needed.

Defintely would recommend this place to all. Not one bad thing to say against the place

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cihan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Basically like a really nice hotel with a young backpacking atmosphere. There are a lot of amenities and a nice staff at a really cheap price. The rooms are somewhat dorm-like but it is great for young travelers on a tight budget. The food is cheap and pretty good, too.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluefooted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#240 of 409 in Florence
230 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#153 of 409 in Florence
2,038 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Fortezza
#66 of 409 in Florence
376 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#162 of 409 in Florence
319 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 409 in Florence
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plus Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plus Florence

Address: Via di Santa Caterina d'Alessandria 15-17, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $25 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Plus Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Plus Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plus Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing