We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a league of its own”
Review of Plus Florence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plus Florence
Ranked #15 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

There's no better place to stay in Florence than at PLUS. The reviews that say it's 'more like a hotel than a hostel' are complete nonsense, unless that's a really negative way of saying it's big, lively and super clean, which it is.
Out of the 8 hostels we stayed in during our trip to Italy, this was hands down the best, and here's why. The staff were amazing, and sorted out my mistake with the booking which was completely my fault. The first room we stayed in was in the new part, and was a lot cleaner, comfier, bigger and more stylish than 2/3 of the hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. The second room wasn't as plush, but it was still the best hostel room of the lot. Air conditioning was great, the lockers were huge and had space to hang clothes and the bathrooms were squeaky clean.
The communal areas downstairs are also brilliant. The pool bar area serves food and drinks with music all day and makes you feel like you're on a nice relaxing beach holiday somewhere. Inside there is a large restaurant area that doubles up to serve a decent all you can eat breakfast buffet in the morning.
Don't be put off by the 'hotel' vibe that's been put out. It's most definitely not a hotel, it's just really big and really clean, and there's nothing negative about that. Meeting people is not a problem, it's the busiest hostel in Florence and the majority of backpackers who come to Florence stay here. Out of 14 nights out in Italy, 2 of the best were here, and we met some amazing friends.
Already planning on staying here again, don't miss out!

Room Tip: The whole hostel is nice, but rooms in the new section are much more luxurious, although I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samlol4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 2,572 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just found it's like a chain hostel, so I think I would make it my priority for my stays in other cities. The room we stayed in was clean and spacious, the facilities were arranged reasonably-- the toilet and the shower were separate so if someone is having a shower then others still can use the toilet instead of waiting or disturbing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issyy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a huge hostel, almost like a hotel... rooms are quite nice and new (if you're located on the new building). Downside of rooms: lack of air/con... there's a small fan but it surely doesn't help a lot.

The common areas are very nice, pool and bar have great atmosphere and the staff is friendly.

Location is great, close to everything without being in the middle of chaos. Close to the train station as well, short walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaPerez84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a very big hostel. We were placed in the new building which is detached from the main hostel. This was good as it was much quieter than the main building. The restaurant, bar and pool are all very clean and efficient. Perfect for younger people as there are a lot of travellers and facilities. The room was so clean and tidy, one of the best hostel rooms i've stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Large hostel that was great if you wanted a bit more comfort for a few nights. 6 bed female dorm was clean and spacious and felt more like a hotel then a hostel. Great showers! Didn't use many of their facilities and was unimpressed that they advertised tours and a travel desk on their website, but when approached about it, 3 different staff members told me none were available and the tours should have been taken off the website. As hostel is so large it was hard to meet people unless they were in your dorm. Good, free computers for guest use and spacious lockers also.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Has a great atmosphere and out double room looked nice but the lack of bedding out pillow was soo thin I had to sleep on my neck travel pillow and we didn't get a blanket only a sheet which became a hassle as my partner get hot and need air on on which is normally fine as I sleep under blanket. We asked to extra pillows but they just shrugged there shoulders and said no.. The bed also gave me and my partner very sore backs which hasn't happend with another hotels in the last 8weeks travel.. The air con is also quite loud.. If the bedding was corrected I'd stay again as is set up well.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char-isla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a really cool place for young (at heart) folks. The pool bar makes for a great chill out.
And so does the roof terrace.
I was expecting a room with a bunk bed, but their new block has plush new double rooms.
We had to keep our curtain closed though, as the external stairs were right in front of the window!
Don't expect a cleaner doing daily rounds and providing fresh bed linen though, as that does not happen.
Location is great, walking distance to all the must see locations, although I'm pretty sure it is more than 900 metres from the SMN station.
Breakfast isn't included in the rate, and costs 6euros per person per day. But not worth it, as there's plenty of cafes and shops nearby.
Overall, not quite luxury but was quite happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#148 of 410 in Florence
2,058 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#241 of 410 in Florence
231 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#47 of 410 in Florence
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#187 of 410 in Florence
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plus Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plus Florence

Address: Via di Santa Caterina d'Alessandria 15-17, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $29 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Plus Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plus Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plus Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing