We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a luxury hostel”
Review of Plus Florence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plus Florence
Ranked #14 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The PLUS range of hostels are great! I've stayed at three different PLUS hostels across Italy, and Plus Florence was one of my favourites. Whenever we're in Florence, we stay here because it's great value for money for travellers not looking to spend an arm and a leg on accommodation. The hostel has a great vibe and is good for people of all ages. My boyfriend and I are in our early 20's and on our one trip we had a couple probably in their 50's sharing a dorm with us. There's lots to do here, such as spend time at the pool or bar outside, play snooker/pool, internet, free wifi in the rooms etc. There's also a laundry room, which was SO helpful. The dorms are big enough and very simple. The bathroom was basic and very clean. There is a lugguage storage room at reception, so you can drop off your lugguage and tour the city even if you're too early for check in.The staff at the reception were amazing and helpful. There is a travel info desk at reception where you can go and ask about travel tips and advice for your trip in Florence. PLUS also offered various day trips, which was wonderful. We went on the trip where we spent one day in Tuscany- we spent time in Siena, went wine tasting in Chianti and visited the breathtaking city of San Gimignano. A day trip WELL worth it. The tour is hosted by one of the PLUS employees. Our tour guide was Dario, and he was just the best. Very knowledgable and really entertaining. The hostel itself is about a 10minute walk from Santa Maria Novella train station (Florence's main train station), so it was VERY conveniently located, and really easy to find.

Room Tip: Wherever you stay in the hostel is great. There is an elevator and a flight of stairs, so all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

I feel very awkward in writing this review, I tell you. When we arrived everything was perfect! It was Monday. We were so happy about our choice! Slowly our dream was turning in a nightmare! First impression: nice people welcoming us, a nice and clean room, a nice terrace with a view, sauna, swimming pool and hammam (Turkish bath). But... our bed was so so so uncomfortable and my neck still hurt after days we back home! The duvet was too small: our bed was a queen-size and the duvet was for a single bed! On the terrace door, next to our room, was a warning: "This door is alarmed after midnight. Don't open it or you will be persecuted" or something like this. No alarm, no control, nothing: we couldn't sleep because was full of crazy drunk people running and yelling from the bottom to the top of the building and no one said anything! No way to sleep, at 4.00 in the night as well. No way! The swimming pool after the first lovely romantic day (Monday) was inaccessible. It was full of guys doing everything is wasn't allowed in there. So, what can I say. If you like going crazy all the night long, if you don't need to sleep, if you are a teenager and you like staying in this chaos, this is your place!

Room Tip: Stay away from the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristinanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A great hostel that runs more like a hotel. It has a locked room for storing luggage as well as a large computer room. There is a cantina and rec area downstairs, including a Wii and a DJ. Laundry amenities are good (though a little pricey at 4e/machine/load). I didn't get a chance to try the rooftop terrace because it was closed for the winter.
Housekeeping does a good job of keeping the rooms pretty clean. Make sure to bring a lock for the lockers. There are separate shower and bathrooms.
It is 10 minutes walk from the heart of Florence and the train station. The front desk staff are very friendly and knowledgeable of the area, ask them for a free map!

Room Tip: There is a girls-only level in case you prefer an all-female room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked this as a private room within the hostel and it was clean and basic but all we needed. The showers were good and we even had a small balcony. The indoor pool is a real bonus and the terrace bar a gorgeous place to relax. We did a few excursions, including the bar crawl. It was good fun to meet new people - so would be great if you were travelling alone (and we met a lot of people that were). It's great value for money allowing you more to spend on doing things in Florence. If you want to do the cycle tours, book early, maybe in advance of arriving as they were booked up when we arrived.

Room Tip: If you decide to share a dorm, we heard it can get a bit loud of an evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hinag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A hostel with more amenities than many budget hotels. Located within walking distance of the Duomo. The personnel was friendly and helpful.

The rooms were large and very clean. Huge bathrooms with gigantic luxurious showers. A great pool and a rooftop bar with awesome theme parties and cocktail buckets every night of the week. A great band played the night I was there.

Breakfast isn't worth the money. Dinner was decent.

There are laundry facilities and fitness facilities, neither of which I had the chance to utilize during my stay.

If I ever again decide to do Florence on a budget, I would absolutely consider returning to Plus Florence.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colleen_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A good value hostel only ten minutes walk from the train station and the Duomo. It's also only a fifteen minute walk to Pont Vecchio. The hostel itself is quite big and the rooms and facilities are clean. There is a bar, a terrace, a restaurant (around 7 Euro per meal), laundry facilities, a pool, sauna and fitness area. The staff were very helpful on check in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kw87travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A nice and reasonable hostel to stay in Florence, slightly towards the north. The only downside I see is the price, which is on the higher side. Breakfast is extra at 6 EUR. I would rather suggest not to have it there, and rather explore the nearby supermarket, which is phenomenal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeLongTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#152 of 410 in Florence
2,110 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Tuscany
#107 of 410 in Florence
806 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#88 of 410 in Florence
1,160 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#10 of 333 in Florence
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plus Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plus Florence

Address: Via di Santa Caterina d'Alessandria 15-17, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $35 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Plus Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plus Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plus Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing