We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”
Review of Plus Florence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plus Florence
Ranked #14 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here as part of the Expat Explore tour for a night in November.

The room was reasonably large and clean.

The bed sheets are left on the bed and you have to make your own bed up. Duvets are in the cupboard.

The air conditioning is controlled from reception so there is no controller in the bedroom. They turn it off at about 1am so its really cold in the mornings when you wake up.

There is a small tv in the room as well.

There are no towels supplied but you can rent them. We paid 1.50 euros per towel.

There is two small bars of soap but no shampoo supplied so you will need to bring your own.

We stayed on the second floor facing the courtyard but you can hear the sounds of the street clearly.

Although it was a Wednesday night, there were lots of young people drinking and shouting till early hours of the morning. The insulation is very thin so you can hear the next door neighbors and those upstairs very clearly.

The staff is friendly and very helpful.

Location wise, it's a nice easy walk into town for about 20 minutes. No transport needed and there are quite a couple of supermarkets nearby.

There is a swimming pool, sauna, restaurant, pool table and bar on site.

Our dinner was provided for by the tour so it was pasta with sauce only and very stale bread. Most people decided to just go out and get their own food.

For the price though, its reasonably good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 811 of 2,572 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

According to the price you pay, this hostel is considered maybe the best. It was clean, the front desk very helpful, cool atmosphere, location not far away from the center, and some facilities are available like sauna, pool and a bar.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidDac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here twice, once during our Topdeck tour and then again when we travelled back to Florence. Being a big hostel it was a great place to stay with a big group. The rooms were brightly decorated and very spacious with power points and lockers for each person. The bathroom facilities were also really good and in the bigger rooms there is a separate toilet which is really helpful. The hostel has a restaurant attached which was handy for when we arrived late and did not feel like heading out anywhere. The staff were pleasant and helpful with our queries.

Downsides - the wifi was ordinary, very unpredictable and would often cut out. Because it is such a big hostel it could get quite noisy as people would congregate in rooms or the hallway rather than in the bar area. Also a little bit pricey for hostel standards,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GC_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a big hostel, it means it has really good facilities but definitely not the small hostel feel. we took advantage of this and utilized the cheap and large meals in the restaurant on site. The rooms were clean, had big lockers, 24hour reception with friendly staff even when we arrived late at night. We walked everywhere we needed to from this hostel. Overall good stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This brightly coloured and clean hostel is housed in what must have been a hotel. There are numerous rooms and with all different combinations of bed types and bathrooms. Our room was very clean and came with linen and towels. The wifi signal was good and there was also a laundry.

The staff were helpful for recommendations and even helped us work out the cheapest train connection to Bologna. Would definitely recommend this hostel. But try and ask for a room not near the elevator on level 4 - it was a bit noisy hearing the lift going up and down at all hours! The noise might not be as bad on lower levels.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room not near the elevator - it was a bit noisy hearing the lift going up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Service : The staff was indeed very helpful, knowledgeable, and speaks English! Upon our reservation, we got a complimentary city walk tour with a tour guide. On top of that, the hostel offers paid trip to outskirts, wine tasting trips etc. My family of four, sign up for wine tasting trip to Chianti, and also San Gimignano.
They have laundry room, bar, canteen, swimming pool, sauna etc...
Value : It is definitely value for money. We stayed in a dormitory with only four of us in one dorm. Food at the canteen was okay, portion was big.
Sleep quality : Bed was comfy, hallway was quiet during the night.
Cleanliness : Bathroom and toilet was very clean. hallway was mopped every now and then, dorm was cleaned when we were out.
Location : 10-15 minutes walk for Central station.
Overall, we enjoyed staying in. Definitely recommend to friends and family to stay in next time when they visit Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia3980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

On first impression the hostel looked clean. However, I am now suffering from 30+ bites up and down my arms and neck. To the hostel, please fumigate your rooms or replace the mattresses. I traveled for 8 months and only got bed bugs at this place. I even stayed on a mattress on top of dirt in Egypt and turned out fine. Paying $30+ per night should be enough money to guarantee no bed bugs.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dcmac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#150 of 410 in Florence
2,057 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#241 of 410 in Florence
231 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#47 of 410 in Florence
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 410 in Florence
404 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#185 of 410 in Florence
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plus Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plus Florence

Address: Via di Santa Caterina d'Alessandria 15-17, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $29 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Plus Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plus Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plus Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing