We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to eat in Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Santo Bevitore

Il Santo Bevitore
Ranked #243 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $53
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The place to eat in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is what dining in Italy is all about. Slightly refined Tuscan in a very Italian, very elegant setting. Perfect food, absolutely incredible beef, amazing wine, wonderful service. I recommend this restaurant to everyone going to Florence; the oltr'arno is the place to go for food and drinks after touring the museums across the river. They have a wine bar next door. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank betty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    986
    637
    188
    70
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cross the Arno and enjoy excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Il Santo Bevitore is located in Oltrarno, the other side of Florence. Cross the Arno at Ponte Alla Carraia, and you will find it on the left, one block after crossing…or cross at Ponte Vecchio and first street towards the right, borgo San Jacopo becomes Santo Spirito, a few blocks more…on the corner.
Our 1:30pm reservation was honored immediately by a welcoming staff, the place was full. Was shown their extensive wine list and indulged in one of the fine Tuscan Brunellos. The Vongole pasta is the best italian food I have ever tasted! Mi wife had the classic Pomodoro. Ordered from the italian menu and to my surprise my second was chicken ( not my thing). It was superb ! Dessert was also delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ppka50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, consistently delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I love their unique menu with fresh pasta and meats. Depending on the season they will have rabbit, artichoke, scallops...

The service is amazing and the wine list even better.

It's a cozy dark space that is large for big celebrations. When the weather is nice they set up tables outside in private little nooks.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow, AMAZING Nduja pasta!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was the first restaurant we tried when we were on holiday in Florence and the food was soooo amazing. On the advise of the waiter I chose the Nduja Pasta. Seriously, this was the best pasta I have ever eaten! And I am a pasta lover. This pasta has a spicy sausage in it, although it is more a very fine minced meat with lots of chillies. My husband regretted not ordering the pasta as well. So we went back two days later to eat it again.

Price-quality of this restaurant is outstanding. We are from Amsterdam and for us the price is considered sort of "cheap". The quality was very very good. The waiter was very friendly and had a nice chat. The wines are also very nice.

This restaurant is very populair in Florence, so make sure you book a table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roszalief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This restaurant was recommended as the best in Florence by friends of ours who live in Florence, and they were 100% right. The atmosphere was beautiful, the food varied, different and delicious, and the service was great too.

We had a 2.5 hour dinner, at our leisure, even though many people were waiting- you are not rushed here.

I urge reservations, which they take.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CurtM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Santo Bevitore also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Santo Bevitore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing