We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Modern Twist on the Traditional”
Review of Il Santo Bevitore

Il Santo Bevitore
Ranked #241 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $53
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Modern Twist on the Traditional”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is one of my favorite places in Florence because it reinterprets Tuscan food and provides a refreshing change from what you find in many other local places. The decor is dark and sophisticated but doesn't try too hard to shake off its "Italian-ness" which I love. As with many restaurants in the area, service can be hit or miss, but this is still a place that I love to go for more special occasions.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank magalia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,033
    675
    196
    69
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Most delicious food in florence”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Unquestionably the best food I have ever had in Florence. Everything was perfectly prepared and delicious. First rate wine list. Easy to find, on the corner only one short block from the Arno. Bravo!

Helpful?
Thank vinorosso54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
261 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Best meal so far in Florence!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

After our hotel screwed up and told us we had reservations at 8 pm at another restaurant...and it was closed.. we walked past this restaurant and decided to give it a try. It was late by this time, almost 9 pm and the restaurant was crowded. The host told us he wouldn't have a table for 45 minutes, but we could wait a couple doors down at their wine bar (very very small, but cute). We were seated in about 30 minutes (at a table which, by the way, was empty the first time we walked in!). My husband had the appetizer pumpkin foam, and he loved it, For dinner he had buratti stuffed cannelloni which he loved, I had a pecorino and walnut salad and sea bass with fennel. It was very good. Place is noisy, with a lot of locals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable place to eat in Florence”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Because the food was good and reasonably priced compared to many other places in town, it's not a tourist trap sort of place so a lot of locals go, too. We went for lunch and the menu choice was not of the amplest that I've ever seen, but what we got was well made. And the staff was gracious and patient.
One note of improvement: have seats for kids as a lot of people do travel with their youngsters and shouldn't be discriminated or have to bring their own (as we did).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnytuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Food In Firenze!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It took us until our 5th and final night in the city, but we finally found this gem! We're from San Diego and lead fairly healthy lifestyle, so I was a bit overwhelmed at the amount of food at every meal and the pressure to order individual dishes, when my husband and I share most of the time. Not like that here, though. Food was great, and the service was exceptional in a town where we'd found it lacking at times. We're on our honeymoon, so we especially appreciated the romantic ambiance. Reservations are a must, though, if you want to eat before 10:30 on a Sunday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Santo Bevitore also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Santo Bevitore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing