We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the low cost”
Review of Ciao Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ciao Hostel
Ranked #81 of 314 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room was of a reasonable price and one gets what they expect. It is relatively close to the main train station. It wasn't that close to the main centre but as Florence is a small city this isn't the biggest deal. Rooms are clean, there is a kitchen facility and clean bathroom. A shared bathroom was okay, however, one of the doors did not lock. Airconditioning was fine.
However, for a group of four travelling students, this suited our needs for the price well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devaki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 113 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

When we arrived in this hostel we had to wait about one hour for the room to be ready, but we were on holidays, so no stress at all. The room had a good size, facing the main road with a balcony and was absolutely clean. The elevator was broken, so it can be difficult to climb the stairs with heavy luggage.
The bathroom was on the opposite door, cleanness so so... there was also a big kitchen, well equiped and always very clean.
The hostel is not central, you have to walk 5-10 min to SMN train station and some supermarkets and 15 min to historical centre, but the area is nice and safe, and there many bus stops too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ana_teresa_simoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We reserved a private room for 3, and got a private of 4 for the same price, which was great since we had more space. The room was spacious, had cool TV and comfortable beds. Our room and the others on the floor were in a kind of a big apartment, and we had 2 big bathrooms/showers and a great kitchen with everything needed to prepare food.
7 min walk from the train station and 15 min walk from touristic main sites downtown, which makes it pretty much ok for that price.
The price is reasonable, the hostel is quiet, the room are big and the kitchen is a lot of help. One of the best hostels i've been in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fofir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The hostel has a great kitchen and spacious room. The receptionist was knowledgable and very helpful. The area of the hostel is in the city center. The public buses are in front of the hostel. 5 minutes to the SMN Station by bus and about 10 minutes walking to the station. Everything was walking distance to main attraction places. The only disappointment we experienced was the hostel elevator was'n working at all during our stay and we had to go to the fourth floor. The bathroom wasn't taking care of (clean) that often, the lights wasn't working and after reporting it to the front desk, no one came to fix it. It was bad service! Fortunately we didn't stay that much in the hostel but we still expected nice and clean service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Excelent hostel. With many space, wonderful cleaning and great decoration.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank SamuelM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Besides the proximity to the train station, the modern contemporary decor seen in the photos of the rooms sold us when we booked online. The room actually was as photographed and pretty good, except the designer bed cover was stained and hadnt been cleaned and the bed sheet, though clean was torn. We were promised we would share the bathroom with one other room - what they neglected to mention was that other room was a dorm with 4-5 teenagers and obviously the bathroom was always dirty and never cleaned during our 2 day stay. If only the concept of cleanliness could be explained to the management...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oondartoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Manu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
7 Santi Hostel
#57 of 314 in Florence
492 reviews
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#20 of 314 in Florence
199 reviews
Bigallo Hostel
#66 of 314 in Florence
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#32 of 314 in Florence
383 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#13 of 314 in Florence
397 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#16 of 314 in Florence
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciao Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciao Hostel

Address: Via Guido Monaco 34, 50144, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 314 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $24 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ciao Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ciao Hostel Florence was recently refurbished upgrading the entire hostel to a very impressive and competitive standard. Guests are ensured clean cheap backpacker hostel accommodation in the centre of Florence as well as a wealth of services that would befit many hotels. Guests arriving at the Ciao Hostel Florence will be impressed by its reception and meeting area. The hostel strives to maintain a high level of service and sustain its favorable image. The hostel also boasts its own garden area. There is plenty of storage space, fridge and a gas cooker. La posizione centrale di Ciao Hostel Florence assicura che molti servizi della città si trovano a portata di mano. Firenze è una città moderna e il capoluogo della Toscana che significa che non sarà necessario andare lontano per il miglior espresso della regione, croissant appena sfornati, aperitivo o cibo da leccarsi i baffi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ciao Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing