We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly disappointing experience”
Review of Hotel Il Duca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Il Duca
Ranked #352 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

While indeed situated a few streets away from main attractions, clean, with wonderful decorations, the hotel lacks terribly in hospitality. When arriving there, we were greeted by a receptionist that spoke only Italian, our room was supposed to be ready at 3 pm but when we got there we had to wait until 4 pm for it to be cleaned. Breakfast was supposed to be served at 8 am and, guess what, we had to wait until 8.30 for it to be ready (we had a train to Pisa at 10), not to mention it consisted only in sweet croissants, tea and bad coffee. All in all, we were made to feel like we were bothering someone with our presence.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 209 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Me and my friends was surprise to get such kind of hotel for these little money what we had pay. We are were 3 persons and we got big room what was enough for us, bathroom was also big. Everything is new inside of room and outside. Location is great (in 2 minutes from S.M. del Fiore), street is little and quite. Service was also friendly with us but we got little problems with communication bcs only one young woman can talk but no one else.
Also we didn't like they don't answer to the mail what we have sent before to come there and we was need to call and wait long time when they find a person who can talk english.
Breakfast is always the same but big and nice what usually not typical in Italy.
Overall the hotel made ​​a good impression with the exception of minor bugs =)

Room Tip: Good choise for city trip for all kinds of travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is family run, and you are made to feel that you are in somebodys house, not a hotel. There are so many rules and regulations. That aside the hotel is in a great location 2 minutes walk from the lively bar area, and a good starting place for a days sightseeing. The rooms are small but clean, but you must close and lock the windows before the air-con will work, although there are no signs to tell you that, but plenty telling you not to wash your clothes, not to put things in the fridge. The Grandmother took great delight in making me feel stupid by pretending that she couldn't tell me to close the window when I said that my air con didn't work, by shouting very loudly in Italian as she came to my room and closed the window and the air con came on. Although the daughter speaks good English and is very helpful. There is a small backyard with a couple of tables where you can have a drink in the evening and a ciggie if you do not feel like going out (but make sure you have your mobile with you to call somebody when they lock you out without checking if somebody is still there) there doesn't seem to be a search party on reception ready to confiscate supermarket bought wine and food. Lastly we come to what they call breakfast. This consisted of Sliced bread, a Roll, Butter, cheese Spread Triangles, Cereal, 2 cakes "Juice" and coffee. Not even a slice of Ham, Cheese, or hard boiled egg in sight. If you can get a double for less than £30 then stay here just for the location, but stock up on some ham and cheese to bulk up breakfast from the supermarket or else you will be forking out another tenner each as soon as you leave the hotel as you will be hungry.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OX4-GOONER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Proprietario at Hotel Il Duca, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

The customer is always right is a concept invented by a customer. He's right who is polite, courteous and sympathetic to anyone who is doing a job in which the client is not competent. Why after 12 hours spent smiling, explain, listen, answer the phone, respond to email and, in the midst of all this, groped to work while the state does everything to get you shut down. I should add that our maniacal attention, about the proper use of the equipment the hotel is because we want to maintain a good level of quality, even for customers who stay after your departure.
Angela Musacchio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Hotel was good, clean and location was nice in center of city. But, we are being continuously monitored here and we can find lot of restrictions like not to put your stuff in fridge, not to wash your clothes etc..If they have something like these they should have placed there rules and regulations while describing about there hotel. So, people might avoid it right at the time of booking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank vikraminPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Proprietario at Hotel Il Duca, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

The customer is always right is a concept invented by a customer. He's right who is polite, courteous and sympathetic to anyone who is doing a job in which the client is not competent. Why after 12 hours spent smiling, explain, listen, answer the phone, respond to email and, in the midst of all this, groped to work while the state does everything to get you shut down. I should add that our maniacal attention, about the proper use of the equipment the hotel is because we want to maintain a good level of quality, even for customers who stay after your departure.
Angela Musacchio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is situated in the old city with narrow street which I liked. Once we entered the hotel we found it to be light and airy. The rooms were nicely decorated, very clean and adequate facilities - the air conditioning worked well which was important as the temperature was 35c. There was a small terraced garden where you could enjoy a drink after sightseeing. The hotel was run by a family and although they were quiet and reserved, were very helpful when asked - I lost the key for my suitcase and they sorted the lock without any fuse. There was quite a good variety of food for breakfast but unfortunately there was no fruit, the only suggestion I would have made to inprove things.We enjoyed our stay and would certaily recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppy01bonnie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Hotel was choosing by travel agency and our mistake was to not read the reviews before. So: the staff seems to composed by a family members: old man watching all day at TV (he wear exactly same shirt for four continuous days), old lady in breakfast rooms teaching you how to not touch any device (so yours toast will be exactly as she prefer) and young unpleasant lady who not give you access to wi-fi network even if you ask to pay, even if she play computer in front of you. As a compensation for travelers who sweat in summer, we were in November, so we ask for, of course, impossible more heat. It was a very cold experience; marble is nice but not so healthy indication at 10 Celsius degrees. If you come by car, a parking place will cost you extra 25 euros per day. No elevator, poor breakfast, stupid rules posted on rooms doors and a generally impression that they make you a favor. Offer yourself more prestige, bring more value to yours money and choose another location. Even clean and close to center, avoid feeling to be a "refugee asking to stay for free". They do not deserve yours attention and yours money, does not matter the price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cezar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Proprietario at Hotel Il Duca, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

The customer is always right is a concept invented by a customer. He's right who is polite, courteous and sympathetic to anyone who is doing a job in which the client is not competent. Why after 12 hours spent smiling, explain, listen, answer the phone, respond to email and, in the midst of all this, groped to work while the state does everything to get you shut down. I should add that our maniacal attention, about the proper use of the equipment the hotel is because we want to maintain a good level of quality, even for customers who stay after your departure.
Angela Musacchio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a week end and enjoyed our stay! We would recommend to a friend staying in Florence !

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#354 of 410 in Florence
421 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
HHB Hotel
HHB Hotel
#360 of 410 in Florence
144 reviews
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#313 of 410 in Florence
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#264 of 410 in Florence
589 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#170 of 410 in Florence
489 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#261 of 410 in Florence
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Duca

Address: Via della Pergola 34, 50121, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $60 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Duca 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Il Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing