We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to explore Florence in style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Granduomo Charming Accomodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed with my girlfriend in Florence back in September. It was a last minute booking. The hotel/apartment was perfect. Amazing location. Great room. Library area and roof top seating area. No need to the extras that hotels offer. Very personal service. Will be recommending this place to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 376 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Granduomo in October and loved it. We travelled with our adult daughter so had a connecting apartment arrangement which suited us perfectly. Freshly baked pastries and fruit were awaiting us on arrival. The rooms were huge, spotlessly clean, beautifully and lovingly decorated, very well appointed indeed. Great bathroom with top-notch amenities, very comfortable king-size bed, European kitchen with everything you need for breakfast, and you could also cook a larger meal if you wanted. Every morning yummy croissants were delivered, divine!! There was also the use of their very interesting library and also their top-floor terrace which is well worth exploring. The lovely concierge lady - whose name I now forget - was extremely helpful and charming. We were absolutely in the centre of Florence, walking distance to everything, perfect position. All in all we had a great stay. I would heartily recommend these apartments and would certainly stay there again next time I visit Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I only stayed here for two nights while in Rome and we had an excellent stay. Our great staying started with having our room upgraded on arrival. We arrived in the afternoon so our room was ready and the helpful reception staff brought our luggage to the room and gave us a tour of the property. There was a lovely library that could be used by all as well as a room on the roof with excellent views of the Duomo. We sat on the roof for an hour or so the first evening and met another couple up there who we enjoyed talking with. The room is a little cramped but you can open windows to make it better.

Now on to the room, maybe in part it had to due with getting upgraded, but we loved our room, perhaps our favorite of our two weeks in Italy. Very large room with sitting area and a little kitchenette. However, one of the things that sets this hotel apart is the little extra. There are extras in the fridge free for use and lovely pastries in the room when you arrive that are replenished daily. Breakfast is brought each morning and is a typical Italian breakfast, which we enjoyed.

I also can’t say enough about the location, as others pictures show you are a stone’s throw from the Duomo and are central to everything in the tourist portion of Florence. Also a short walk to the train station.

The only slight negative we had is the Wi-Fi only worked one of our 2 days and the staff didn’t seem to know how to fix it. Not a big issue, but we were meeting some friends in Florence and Wi-Fi was our only form of communication so it was a slight annoyance. The AC worked well throughout our stay. Also we had the hotel book us a restaurant reservation in advance and at first they booked the wrong restaurant so I am glad I looked closely. We did not ask for any recommendations from the hotel staff.

All in all I highly recommend this hotel. I save 5 star reviews for clearly the best, but this was a strong 4 ½ stars that I rounded down. It would have been 5 if not for the small issues I noted, but nothing that should stop anyone from staying here. It would certainly be our first choice should we ever return to Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wach35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

it has a prima location with very comfy rooms and a lovely owner. it was reasonably priced compare to other small boutique hotels. i would recommend this place to couples and solo travellers givin its location and service.

Room Tip: ask the lady at the front desk for a restaurant recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berti U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Perfect place to stay if you will make the city of Florence as base when visiting Tuscany and not using a car. The room is very comfortable with a good space, excellent kitchen with appliances to cook, if desired, and the location wouldn't be better - really in front of the Duomo. Wonderful building, many good restaurants, salumerias and gelaterias nearby, and the must go attractions and main train / bus stations are no more than 10 minutes walking. Graceful and lovely staff that every time they were requested, dedicated attention indicating places to go, making reservations, late check-out and so on. Everyday they leave fresh fruits and unbelievable Nutella biscuits.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is situated perfectly, right next to the Duomo, which made it extremely easy to get back to after roaming Florence. The rooms are clean and the staff very friendly and willing to help out.

We travelled here as part of our honeymoon, but were not shown any nice little gestures (such as prosecco on arrival) or given the choice rooms as we had been treated to at the other hotels we stayed at as part of our mini tour around Italy. The room we had was small with only a shower and no bath, with a very small window overlooking a small courtyard. Yet we found out that the room opposite ours was at least twice the size with a great view. Therefore I think the experience would vary quite a lot depending on what room you had, so choose carefully.

There are however a couple of great communal areas - there is a little library where you can enjoy free coffee and cake, and a rooftop terrace (albeit enclosed) which make for a nice post dinner drink location. These are nice places to retire to after you've retreated from the bustling piazza.

One thing which is not facility related, and shouldn't deter from the fact this is a very nice place to stay, was that I was creeped out the whole time I was here! There are some very odd looking nick-nacks (dead butterfly collections, medicine bottles), pictures (Chairman Mao in a chair anyone?) and plaster casts of human heads that are very crudely painted. These odd things also line the dark stairways - with a mannequin in victorian dress without a head placed on the stairs next to the entrance of our apartment. They certainly made for interesting talking points, but they didn't make me feel comfortable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trillian_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Granduomo is very nearly the perfect place to stay in Florence, but a few issues did affect our enjoyment of our time spent there, which makes it hard to unequivocally recommend.

The property couldn't be closer to the Duomo, which makes it a wonderful place to explore the city. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. We loved the attention to detail and the small things that make staying there a more personal experience, such as the fresh flowers in our room and delicious profiteroles delivered to our room every afternoon. We had a fantastic room with a balcony overlooking the Duomo which was the perfect place to observe the activity in the piazza over a glass of Prosecco. When we arrived, we were greeted by the charming, retired owner who took great delight in showing us our room. She made us feel really welcome, like honored guests, and was very helpful in making a restaurant reservation that night. If only things had continued that way.

So what spoiled our stay?

On our second day we asked the regular receptionist to make reservations to tour the Vasari Corridor which leads from the Ufizi gallery to the Boboli Gardens adjacent to the Pitti Palace. Arrangements apparently made, we were told to go to the Ufizi Gallery to pick up our tickets. On entering the gallery we made our way to the entrance to the Vasari Corridor only to be told by the guard that it required a special reservation and that we did not have the right tickets. We then traveled back to the ticket counter where we were told that they couldn't issue tickets for the Vasari, and that we'd have to call the reservation number. When we raised the issue with the receptionist at Granduomo she offered no apology or compensation. To our dismay we then realized that there's a language barrier with this particular member of the Granduomo staff. She pretends to understand English, nods and smiles but she doesn't really comprehend what's being asked. She's fine if you want reservations for typical tourist activities, but not if you have any special requests. A younger member of staff was, however, very helpful and a delight to work with. We also realized that the restaurant reservations that you get from the hotel are very tourist-oriented. Both places that were reserved for us only had Americans dining there. You might expect that an upscale accommodation like the Granduomo would be able to secure reservations at more interesting, exclusive places. We had more success on our own.

Other disappointments:

* We were given package of decaf pods for the Nespresso machine when we checked in. The next day the maid took them from the room before we could use them!
* Laundry was returned to us clean, but in a large, damp package resembling lasagna. So we then had to iron our clothes. Unfortunately, there was no iron or ironing board in the room. The ironing board we were given was damaged and I cut myself on it.
* Only one tiny bar of soap was provided for the 4 nights we stayed.
* For such a large apartment and bathroom, the shower was surprisingly cramped.
* The air conditioning isn't very effective.
* The roof deck is unfortunately a missed opportunity. It has narrow, high windows that make it almost impossible, without standing on the furniture, to see the view. This room needs to be remodeled to deliver on its promise.
* As you'd expect from its central city location, it's noisy. Tourist activity dies down at a reasonable time, but Florence apparently has a thriving club scene, so we were regularly woken at 3am by crowds of noisy club-goers. I don't fault Granduomo for this though, it's the price you pay for staying in the heart of the city.
* Wifi was unreliable. The staff needs training on how to fix it.
* There's no parking at the Granduomo. You have to park a couple of blocks away and pay the garage in cash – it's oddly not included in the room charges.

In summary, the Granduomo apartments are a really charming place to stay, but there's more room for improvement than you'd expect from the other reviews. At this price, the details really matter. Granduomo gets many details beautifully right, but it also gets too many of them wrong for me to give this property the rating others have. It's good, but it could be, and really ought to be, fantastic.

Room Tip: Get the room with the balcony, it has a stunning view of the Duomo, and sitting out there with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank n1gels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francsconimario, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Granduomo Charming Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,
first of all we thank you for choosing Granduomo for your stay in Florence.
We will appreciate your comments very much in particular those about the reception service and we consider your opinion helpful to grow up and continue our precious work in the hospitality even better.
We are deeply sorry to learn about the problem you had with the Uffizi Gallery reservation.
the visit to the Vasari Corridor is very particular, it must be programmed well in advance
As we already said we will take in high consideration your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Granduomo for your next trip to Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,893 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,464 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,455 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#58 of 410 in Florence
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granduomo Charming Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granduomo Charming Accomodation

Address: Piazza del Duomo no 1/7, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $183 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Granduomo Charming Accomodation 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granduomo Charming Accommodation enjoys a fabulous location in the historic center of Florence. The elegant decor of the aparments, on four floors with elevator service, reflect Italian tastes in the the harmonious colour, the choice of brocades, the furniture, pietra serena , parquet flooring, and travertine marble. The walls, painted in soft, restful colours are embellished with fine stucco works. A charmingly intimate property, the Granduomo offers guests the atmosphere of a private home and, at the same time, all the amenities of a Hotel. Twelve windows overlook the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore, the Duomo, our guests can enjoy their stay in the heart of the city, the main monuments and museums, the most exclusive boutiques and all points of cultural and architectural interest are all within walking distance. Garage service is available for our guests upon request. The exclusive location and the refined ambiance are an unspoken invitation to return to enjoy the beauties of our incomparable Florence again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Granduomo Charming Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granduomo Charming Accomodation Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing