We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A traditional Tuscan restaurant”
Review of La Posta

La Posta
Ranked #793 of 2,703 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Duomo
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A traditional Tuscan restaurant”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have to contradict previous poor reviews. Our experience was that we came upon this restaurant on our first night in Florence as it looked pretty with a nice outdoor seating area, which is always good on a hot night. From the outset our waiter offered attentive, old fashioned, professional service - a person who had clearly been serving for a long time and was rightly proud of his job. The food was good quality and well priced - we really had no complaints.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countryadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    106
    59
    35
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tourist trap.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

10€ p. person / service. The service was tired, very cold an unfriendly for the price. Poor quality. Very expensive. Never again this restaurant. To avoid. We have been in the restaurant today.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baltes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tricky waiter conned us...a hard sell, and a rip off!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice location and pretty place, but our waiter was a used car salesman! I ordered an arugula salad, and he asked if I wanted some Parmesan cheese on it? I said yes, sort of like salt and pepper, in Italy, I thought. When the bill came he had added over $5 for the Parmesan cheese! One beer, one glass of wine, a small salad, and an order of prosciutto and figs came to about $80, and they add the service charge on. We left with a bad taste in our mouth. I would not recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
347 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This restaurant sits right at the heart of Firenze center town, it is quite nice and breezy sitting at the terrace and enjoy the meal while resting. The food was good but nothing out of the ordinary, the vegetable soup was hot and wholesome and the spaghetti alla vongole was not that great. However, the service provided from the owner was outstanding, first class service. He made it known that his customers' comments are very important and he takes them seriously. He walked around to make sure everything was in order and the customers enjoyed what they ordered. When he learned that I didn't like the taste of the spaghetti with clam, he immediately offered something else. Bravo!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank embcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Overprised”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The food and service are fine but neither reasons to celebrate. However, 17e for a 1/2l of house chianti is absurd, as was the rest of the bill. Really not worth the money, there are much better places where you eat as good (or better!) while not getting ripped off.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Briciola05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Posta also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing