We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE worst accom on our 7 week trip through Europe.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo
Ranked #394 of 649 Florence B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEWARE worst accom on our 7 week trip through Europe.”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Ok we understand this place is 'budget' and we are both in our twenties and no stranger to doing it rough BUT... this place is the only place we have left a bad review for on our entire 7 week trip through Europe.

Rooms are small and pokey with no air con and very little room (Florence is very very hot in summer and we are from Australia so no stranger to hot climate). The beds need to be thrown out they are extremely worn and you can feel the springs. The bathroom is also terrible. The toilet is literary underneath the shower and you cannot use the sink without standing in the shower. Walls in the rooms also have mould growing up them.

Through out our stay in Italy we have come to realize that most rooms are small (ESP. Bathroom) but this takes the cake.

Breakfast is a heap of packaged crap that looks like it has been sitting there for a while. And they have a notice in the room that says they cannot serve 'fresh' food due to law but seriously you could at least offer milk and basic cereal in the reception in the morning... Which pretty much every other place we have stayed I'm Italy has offered at least (same price range in the other cities).

By far the worst element of the place is the service. In particular the reception which is only open from 9am until 1pm!!!!!! That's just four hours....

We arrived at 2pm via train and did not see ANYONE except a cleaner for the entire four days!!! And we were up and about around 8am - 9am each day.

Finally our towels did not get changed once our whole stay and just got hung back up dirty...

Position is good but in hindsight we would have much rather stayed a little further from the Domo at a place that was not so impractical and at least had a reception open more than four hours a day....

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidjames2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Affittacamere P... D, Proprietario at Bed and Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
I'm really sorry that you have found so horrible our B & B.
Maybe it was better you asked me to cancel the reservation and I would be glad to give you
back the amount already paid ... and you would have been able to find a room a little less horrible nearby!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    58
    34
    22
    5
See reviews for
8
71
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This place is a case of you get what you pay for. You can see why it is cheap.

Firstly, this is not a proper b&b. The breakfast is pitiful - its just some packaged dodgy looking croissants and cakes, and it is left in your room after cleaning each morning. There was a note in the rooms 'apologising' for the breakfast which explained that Italian b&b's are only allowed to serve packaged food. This is a poor excuse, as I've had much better breakfasts in other Italian b&b's, including both packaged and un-packaged food.

The service is non-existant. We arrived at about 2pm to find the place abandoned. We got inside using an electronic code. There was no-one to speak to about local sights, information, tours etc. There were a couple of brochures in the reception area, but we couldn't even find a map. We didn't have any contact with staff until we checked out, after having stayed four nights, as we left before reception opened at 9am.

The room itself was very basic. It was very hot when we stayed, and the rooms do not have air conditioning, only heating. There was a pedestal fan in the room, but this provided little relief from the heat. The absence of air conditioning also attracts mosquitoes. I woke up each morning covered in bites. Also, there is a lot of noise coming from outside, which means that you cannot leave the window open. I would definitely not recommend staying here in summer.

The room was adequately cleaned, but not well maintained. The bedside lamp did not work, the edging around the shower was broken, and the bathroom walls were mouldy. The lack of a shower curtain also meant that water went everywhere.

Overall it wasn't quite the hotel from hello, but it was an unpleasant place to stay. Definitely spend a few extra euros to stay somewhere better, even if it's a bit further from the city centre. A decent hostel would offer a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmaa4506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
napoli, italia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

the b&b di piazza del duomo is quite nice and recently restored. Respect of many others place in the center of town in the same range of prices it is nice because the bathrooms are new and so the floors etc. The owner and the cleaning lady are very gentle.
The flaws are
a) noises coming from the streets (I used ear plugs to sleep...);
b) some rooms (the single and twins) have a size not really airy (around 2 meters per 4), which made me feel a little bit like sleeping in a corridor...
c) the beds are not very comfortable;

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucalc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I must begin by expressing how very helpful and gracious Sabrina is. She promptly answered my many emails and made our museum reservations without hesitation. She was there to greet us when we arrived and made us feel very welcome. I booked with her directly to ensure that we would be staying in the room with the view of the Duomo. The balcony opens right up onto the Piazza del Duomo in the center of Florence. We stood outside for hours watching people stroll by and marveling at the church. The room itself was very clean and comfortable, just as pictured. The B&B is quite small and we felt as if we had the place to ourselves. The experience was unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AM0_ITALIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I have stayed in many places in Florence over the last 10 years. Each has its own advantages and disadvantages. Bed and Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo has been the best value for money so far. The next time I am in Florence I will stay there. The location is great! You could not get any closer to the Duomo. Howver, as a consequence of being on the corner of two streets, there is a bit of street noise - nothing a pair of good ear plugs can't fix. Make sure to pack them and you will get a good night sleeep in a clean comfortable bed!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian3122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

The room and bathroom were extremely small, but it was definitely worth it. You're never in your room, so this value doesn't disappoint. The bed wasn't that comfy, but it wasn't terrible. This is pretty much in the same piazza as the Duomo, and all other attractions are within walking distance. Because of this place's proximity to the Duomo, you never have to worry about not finding your way back to the hotel. The breakfast they give is pretty pathetic, but at least it's something. The only major downside to this place is the schedule the front desk keeps. There is not someone there 24/7, so if you need to check in late, you need to call ahead. Luckily, the front desk personnel is very kind.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BierWolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piazzaduomo, Direttore at Bed and Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Dear Guest,
I'm Sabrina the owner of the B&B di Piazza del Duomo in Florence
The room you have booked was a Budget-small-room , as you read in the description , this k rooms are cheeper but smaller than the others.

Concerning the reception front desk hours
we are at disposal of our guest every morning from 9 to 13 for advise, tour booking and information.
Guest arriving in the afthernoon or evenin ar provided with AUTOMATIC CODES for the entrance, that we send afther the final booking confirmation.

I really hope to welcome again this guest --- maybe in a bigger room !!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at B&B di Piazza del Duomo in mid October. It is in an excellent location to walk to all of the sights of Florence, and comes with a peek a boo sighting of the Duomo out the window. The room was clean and spacious enough for the two of us. The bathroom was small, by US standards, but perfectly functional and adequate for us. Biggest dislike of the bathroom was that the small shower would cause the shower curtin to cling to you during your shower and for the bathroom floor to become quite wet from splashing water.
The breakfast provided was good, pretty basic though. Single cup coffee maker provided. And there is a great cafe right downstairs should you want a cappuccino or something more for breakfast.
Sabrina is helpful during your stay as well. Overall, we would stay here again based on the value of the room and the great location in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gravytrain04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#185 of 412 in Florence
390 reviews
San Lorenzo
Duomo View B&B
Duomo View B&B
#388 of 649 in Florence
216 reviews
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
#242 of 649 in Florence
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccolo Principe B&B
#34 of 649 in Florence
309 reviews
B&B Porta San Frediano
#252 of 649 in Florence
114 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
#40 of 310 in Florence
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo

Property: Bed and Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo
Address: Via Dell'Oriuolo 49, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 649 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bed and Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B di Piazza del Duomo is located on the 2nd floor in an antique medieval building in the hearth of the center of historic Florence, just in front of the Cathedral. Simple, elegant and inviting rooms with private baths, LCD TV, fan (no a.C.) Safety deposit boxes located inside the rooms. Free WiFi in the common area. A typical Italian breakfast is included in the rates.From 9 am you can enjoy a typical "caffe' espresso" or "cappuccino" in our coffee room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bed and Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Di Piazza Del Duomo
Bed And Breakfast Di Piazza Del Duomo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing