We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reasonably priced restaurant”

Club Culinario Toscano da Osvaldo
Ranked #104 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $53
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great reasonably priced restaurant”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food was delicious and the restaurant was comfortably casual without being sloppy. Our waiter went out of his way to describe the dishes and even gave me a recipe for the delicious liver pate (be sure to try it). We liked it so much we went twice during our three day visit to Florence. Try it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madeline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    907
    277
    69
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, definitely worth the effort to find it!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was undoubtedly the best meal we had during our recent week in Florence. The owner is friendly, knowledgeable and deeply involved in all aspects of his restaurant. He took time to explain everything on the menu and even pointed out for us the most traditional regional dishes so that we might try them. We had several appetizers, salads and meat courses (no one ate pasta this particular evening). We ended up passing our plates around and sharing almost everything because it was so good that everyone wanted to try everything. And to top it all off, the prices were very reasonable! All in all, a great restaurant that I can recommend without hesitation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary123149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A great Florentine T-bone has always been a highlight of a visit to Florence. The rave reviews for this local delicacy brought us to Club Culinario with great expectations. But these hopes turned into a bitter disappointment.

The meal started out very promising. The cheese plate was beautifully presented with tasty local varieties. The stuffed zucchini blossoms were nicely fried and also plated nicely. A pasta special featuring sausage and aged ricotta was quite good as was a “crepe-like” pasta with shrimp. But all this promise ended when the focus of the meal arrived.

I tend to like my steaks on the rare side, and the conventional Florentine preparation is consistent with my preference. But the steak on this occasion was beyond rare. The center was tartare-raw. This alone would not put me off too much if the meat were tender. But the steak was very tough. Others have suggested the possibility of cutting theirs with a fork. We struggled to cut ours with the provided steak knives.

When asked about the under-cooked meat, we were told that is how Florentine steak is normally prepared. Well I’ve have this dish before, and the cente was never room-temperature cool. Without conceding any culpability on their part, they agreed to cook it a little longer. But the steak had already been sliced before it was served. Cooking pre-sliced steak only dries it out and did nothing to tenderize the very un-tender cut. Quite a few pieces were inedibly tough and our plates were returned with a fair amount of unconsumed meat.

There does appear to be some cooking skill in this kitchen. And perhaps we were unfortunate to catch them on a rare off-night that coincided with a rare rogue serving of leathery beef. But it did ruin for us an otherwise promising (and not inexpensive) evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best food in Florence”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Recommended by the concierge at Firenze Number Nine, this really was special. Not expensive, just excellent service. And, incidentally, the best pasta dish I have ever eaten.

Good wine list and the waiter was knowledgeable about the food coming across the pass as well as all the wine. Tranquil atmosphere.

A great evening out, and I'd highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonothan_and_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit slow service”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Food is very tasty - no problem with this (however, t-bone stake seems to be a bit tourist thing - the bone itself was at least 500-600 gr. of the 1400 gr. piece). We were served by the very kind and helpful girl. But she was a slow especially in the end. We were in Francesco Vini right near this restaurant, which is placed as 253 in the Florence rating. I do not understand why Osvaldo is n29 and Vini is n253. For me they are almost equal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evgeny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club Culinario Toscano da Osvaldo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Club Culinario Toscano da Osvaldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing