We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Club Culinario Toscano da Osvaldo
Ranked #94 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were directed to this restaurant by a real foodie who runs a food tour in Bologna....so we knew we were in for a treat. It's not an easy place to find, but once you do, it's so worth it! Marco the owner was very welcoming. My family of four decided to try the "Tasting Menu". We left it up to the chef to prepare for us what he wanted from the menu. I expressed my hesitation over trying rabbit....the others in my party were open to it. Low and behold, they served the rabbit as our main course, but Marco brought me something else! Thanks Marco! It was a great meal from the White Onion Soup with Prawns to the wonderful pasta with figs, ham and a sugar cane flambe! And...my family even enjoyed the rabbit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    276
    69
    27
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
349 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our hotel recommended this restaurant, a pretentious name for a so-so retaurant. We had sea bass in raspberry sauce, rather weird. Nothing was very special.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very special place in Florence”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I collect places like Club Culinario Toscano da Osvaldo as treasures. We got recommendation from our hotel and we were really happy!
It's not only food and ambiance, but people who make such a great atmosphere.
Owner Marco, Chef Davide , guys, thank you, it was really enjoyable and food was delicious.
Looking forward to come back soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful ambiance, not touristy”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a hidden gem. In Piazza Peruzzi, right off a main street in Florence, but you wouldn't even know the restaurant is there! Was recommended to come here by a man who gave us a food tour in Bologna, and so glad we listened! The food is spectacular, very different than at any other restaurant in Florence, and it's not touristy (which is hard to find in Florence!). If they have the chicken over a ham mousse, get that! Or the cannelloni. Also, the pasta with white chocolate shavings was unbelievable. Not sure what they'll have because they change the menu with season and what's fresh... but its all amazing! I went three times over four months in Italy... one with my family, one with a significant other, and once with friends. It was that good!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My hotel recommended Osvaldo so I went my first night in Florence. I went on the early side as I was tired and get up early the next day. The restaurant wasn't very crowded due to the time and the fact a soccer match was on.

I was greated and served by the owner himself, Marco. He was just lovely. He provided wonderful service and was friendly and accommodating. I had the spaghetti with Riccota. It was elegantly prepared and very fresh. Not the most exciting, innovative dish I ever had, but tasty and fulfilling nonetheless. Wine was good and even got a free glass!

Marco was kind enough to put together a dessert sampler for me as I was dining alone and he was eager to please. It was light and delicious and the presentation was gorgeous. I loved it.

The place started to fill up as the night went on. Mostly Americans, but I did see some locals outside saying hi to Marco. It seems like a well known place.

Over all a pleasant evening. Not mind blowing, but tasty, comfortable and excellent service from dear Marco!

Helpful?
Thank AmandaDolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club Culinario Toscano da Osvaldo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Club Culinario Toscano da Osvaldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing