We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as hidden”
Review of Cafaggi

Cafaggi
Ranked #144 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $68
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As good as hidden”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This restaurant is not flashy with "typical tuscany food" lightening screen and other things like that.
It seems to be a family restaurant with a lot of discretion.
If you want to discover love of raw product and kitchening, it's the place to be.
Service is familial and efficient (don't go at 8h00 pm of course). You can share a lot of culture with the boss, he have the passion for his job and his city.
And the food is excellent. An advice, let him makes you a propositions!

The price is a litttle bit expensive (5-10 min by walk from duomo place...no miracle). It would be more correct to say that you can cheaper for the same category of food. but when you are happy at the end it's better than a cheap restaurant where you are disapointed.

I really recomment this restaurant

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank le_gabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    221
    47
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Home cooking”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Other reviews have it right. This is authentic, home-style, Tuscan cooking, loved by locals and tourists who are lucky enough to find it. My artichoke risotto and grilled swordfish were just right, as was the friendly, family, at home atmosphere and service. I was here in 2004 and I am glad to see it hasn't changed. Still great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank raygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamme, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Home style cooking”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I can only confirm the positive review on this site. This is a family run business that serves authentic Tuscan food. I had a home made pickled veal tongue for starters and the vitello tonato for main course. The tongue came without a sauce, but was not dry and very tasty. The vitello tonato in my opinion lacked some refinement. It was very nice sitting in this place, watching the whole family, nice people who will do their best to serve you, even in English.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Geert-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very tasty and good value”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Came here after searching on tripadvisor for a good restaurant close to our hotel. Looked up the menu beforehand and was pleased to find a set menu for €19 with tasty sounding food.

From the outside, the restaurant doesn't seem like anything to write home about. They did have fresh fish in the window, which was nice. It was pretty empty when we went at about half 7, but we didn't let that deter us. The waitress was very nice and spoke good english. For prima piatto, I had the spaghetti with sardines which was absolutely delicious but huuge portion! My mum had ravioli which was good, but not as good as mine! For mains, we both had the beef stew which was great, but I was so full, I couldn't finish it. We also ordered fried artichoke too which was ok. Unfortunately was too full for dessert.

Was impressed with the food and the value.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank connieblue16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very good and authentic food”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Cafaggi doesn't look very appealing from outside. And the interior decor is faded 70s.
But the restaurants attracts the locals. And they obviously know why. The food is very good and fresh indeed. Nothing fancy or over-sophisticated. Just really good and authentic home cooking.
Service is quick and efficient, but certainly far from the kind of artificially over-sweet flattering that some American tourists seem to expect.

Helpful?
2 Thank PukkaSahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafaggi also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Cafaggi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing