We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the BEST place to stay in all of Florence”
Review of Academy Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Academy Hostel
Ranked #32 of 317 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

To find a hostel that is as centrally located and has a fantastic staff with large spacious rooms with soaring ceilings and kept brilliantly clean is a rarity. It's a jewel of a place located just a block east of the Duomo and the main thoroughfares filled with shops, restaurants, gelato parlours, and attractions. Safety is always on the forefront of my mind when I travel and this place went above-and-beyond to ensure everyone is safe with round-the-clock supervision (right by the doorway, complete with secured gates down below (this place is on the 2nd floor of a historic building -- think Sound of Music & the abbey) and security cameras. And a locked door up above that has to be buzzed to get in after hours.

Breakfast is generous and the proprietor, Primo, and his managers (Marco, Salvatore, Arabella) are the friendliest, most responsive, and helpful people I've ever run across in all of my travels around the globe. This is a place for all ages -- I made lots of lasting friends and met so many interesting people including an recently retired couple who was traveling for 6 months around the world. 3 computers are available and free to use, and there's a flatscreen plasma TV and cozy lounge area with leather couches to mingle and relax. Laundry room is available as well.

Hands down - stay here. Do it. You'll change your perception of hostels if you've never stayed in one before.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eskigirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 384 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2009

Excellent hostel with great location, beautiful rooms, clean bathrooms, wi-fi, laundry, breakfast, wonderfully helpful staff and even free snacks every evening!

Only downsides would be the 11am-2pm lock out (though they do use that time to clean every day!) and also the noise level - you can always hear people whenever they walk around...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keshira haLev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Although it is not as perfect as the pictures on-line make it out to be, it was certainly comfortable and the kind and outgoing staff members made our stay very pleasant. Also, the hostel is in a great location - right near the famed Duomo in the heart of the city. It should also be mentioned that free drinks and appetizers were served on the terrace nightly. They were tasty, but that's more than I can say about the breakfast (minimal and pre-packaged goods). All in all, it was a nice place to bunk for a few nights. :)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verdi-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

The location of the hostel is amazing, right next to the Duomo & a minutes walk to the galleria academia (David statue), lovely helpful staff who went out of their way to help (Arrabella :-)) , i could not recommend this place enough, had the best time!! You get a nice comfy private bed, free towels, Free breakfast, free internet, free wine/sangria & nibbles in the evening to meet fellow guests. The place is nice and quiet after 10 pm also because of its residential location. Thankyou for a perfect stay, will be back very soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnyboy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

An easy walk from the train station and just steps away from the Duomo. As a 35 year old, I liked not having to sleep on a bunk bed! Rooms had nice size lockers with locks included. Staff was helpful and kind. Appreciated the free internet access, the free breakfast, the bed was already made when I got there, a towel was included, and the laundry facilities (5 Euro). I gave 4 stars for cleanliness because the shared bathrooms are well used by day end. The common areas are great for hanging out and meeting others. Seemed a tad pricey compared with some other hostels in Italy, but I appreciate the amenities that probably result in the higher price now that I'm not in my 20s anymore. Bring earplugs, it was a bit echo-y.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelleco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

This has to be one of the nicest Hostels I have stayed in. Impeccably clean, friendly staff, spacious rooms, right in the middle of everything, yet quiet at night. They even have a map with recommendations for places to see and eat. I was traveling by myself and met all sorts of friendly folks while sitting on the outside deck. The friendly people at the front desk even helped me with my Italian. Academy Hostel is highly recommended in my book.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldfuntimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

I decided to take myself off to Florence for a weekend and didn't fancy shelling out for a hotel, but still wanted to stay somewhere fairly quiet, central and value for money.

Well, I found it all and more at the Academy hostel! The location is unbeleivably central, right next to the Duomo and Academia Gallery and within walking distance of everything. It's set within one of those massive italian houses with a courtyard in the centre, so it's very quiet, and very easy to find from the street and also once inside (basically you just turn right and go upstairs)

The staff are very friendly, there are computers and a printer in the lobby you can use FOR FREE, couches to hang out on and books to read. Breakfast is included in the price and there's a great spread of croissants, jams, crackers and reeeally good coffee! I also used to kitched a few times to prepare food bought in the market and it's a nice place just to hang out in.

I stayed in a 3 bed room - no bunk beds - and there are screens to use for privacy and arrange as you please. You get your own reading light for your entire stay, and there's a bedside table with towels in it, and lockers that come with their own padlocks. The bathrooms are a funky lime colour and very clean, just like everywhere else. I didn't have to wait for one at any point.

I had a great time at the Academy hostel, it's clean, comfortable and fantastic value for money. I'm pretty sure that I will return to Florence at some point and when I do this will be my first choice!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank whatshername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#20 of 317 in Florence
200 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#12 of 317 in Florence
399 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#17 of 317 in Florence
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 317 in Florence
2,532 reviews
San Lorenzo
My Friends Guesthouse
My Friends Guesthouse
#109 of 657 in Florence
157 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
#45 of 317 in Florence
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Hostel

Address: Via Ricasoli 9, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 317 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $30 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet, smart new hostel is at the most central location in Florence, beside the Duomo on the start of the street that leads to the Museum dell'Accademia (Academy Gallery where Michelangelo's David is housed). The hostel is an early 17th Century Palace, a gem of sober architecture and refined atmosphere.Academy Hostel Florence are the ideal venue for a vacation in Florence. The rooms feature elegant and welcoming interiors, wenge essential-design furniture, and the best amenities offered by Hostel Florence Academy. he entrance lounge room of Hostel are a combination of elegance and style where art and design contribute to the guests tailor-made experience of good taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Academy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Academy Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing