We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING PLACE TO STAY!!”
Review of Academy Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Academy Hostel
Ranked #34 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Reviewed June 16, 2009

The location of the hostel is amazing, right next to the Duomo & a minutes walk to the galleria academia (David statue), lovely helpful staff who went out of their way to help (Arrabella :-)) , i could not recommend this place enough, had the best time!! You get a nice comfy private bed, free towels, Free breakfast, free internet, free wine/sangria & nibbles in the evening to meet fellow guests. The place is nice and quiet after 10 pm also because of its residential location. Thankyou for a perfect stay, will be back very soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnyboy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 388 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2009

An easy walk from the train station and just steps away from the Duomo. As a 35 year old, I liked not having to sleep on a bunk bed! Rooms had nice size lockers with locks included. Staff was helpful and kind. Appreciated the free internet access, the free breakfast, the bed was already made when I got there, a towel was included, and the laundry facilities (5 Euro). I gave 4 stars for cleanliness because the shared bathrooms are well used by day end. The common areas are great for hanging out and meeting others. Seemed a tad pricey compared with some other hostels in Italy, but I appreciate the amenities that probably result in the higher price now that I'm not in my 20s anymore. Bring earplugs, it was a bit echo-y.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelleco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

This has to be one of the nicest Hostels I have stayed in. Impeccably clean, friendly staff, spacious rooms, right in the middle of everything, yet quiet at night. They even have a map with recommendations for places to see and eat. I was traveling by myself and met all sorts of friendly folks while sitting on the outside deck. The friendly people at the front desk even helped me with my Italian. Academy Hostel is highly recommended in my book.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldfuntimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

I decided to take myself off to Florence for a weekend and didn't fancy shelling out for a hotel, but still wanted to stay somewhere fairly quiet, central and value for money.

Well, I found it all and more at the Academy hostel! The location is unbeleivably central, right next to the Duomo and Academia Gallery and within walking distance of everything. It's set within one of those massive italian houses with a courtyard in the centre, so it's very quiet, and very easy to find from the street and also once inside (basically you just turn right and go upstairs)

The staff are very friendly, there are computers and a printer in the lobby you can use FOR FREE, couches to hang out on and books to read. Breakfast is included in the price and there's a great spread of croissants, jams, crackers and reeeally good coffee! I also used to kitched a few times to prepare food bought in the market and it's a nice place just to hang out in.

I stayed in a 3 bed room - no bunk beds - and there are screens to use for privacy and arrange as you please. You get your own reading light for your entire stay, and there's a bedside table with towels in it, and lockers that come with their own padlocks. The bathrooms are a funky lime colour and very clean, just like everywhere else. I didn't have to wait for one at any point.

I had a great time at the Academy hostel, it's clean, comfortable and fantastic value for money. I'm pretty sure that I will return to Florence at some point and when I do this will be my first choice!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank whatshername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

This place is great value for money. My daughter and I shared a double room which was lovely, the bathrooms are immaculate. Breakfast is included, there's a small fridge and a toastie machine in the kitchen, which is useful if you are on a budget! There's free internet and the staff are friendly and helpful. Great location.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EdinburghLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

This place is great value for money. The room was clean and new with privacy screens and lockers provided. The bathrooms are immaculate and there is a lovely balcony (the views from the windows onto the courtyards are pretty). Breakfast is included, there's free internet, and the best feature is the location.

A great budget option - I couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bright0ngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 사파티스타
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#20 of 325 in Florence
204 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#13 of 325 in Florence
407 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#16 of 325 in Florence
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 325 in Florence
2,557 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
#41 of 325 in Florence
146 reviews
Duomo
David Inn
David Inn
#132 of 325 in Florence
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Hostel

Address: Via Ricasoli 9, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $27 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet, smart new hostel is at the most central location in Florence, beside the Duomo on the start of the street that leads to the Museum dell'Accademia (Academy Gallery where Michelangelo's David is housed). The hostel is an early 17th Century Palace, a gem of sober architecture and refined atmosphere.Academy Hostel Florence are the ideal venue for a vacation in Florence. The rooms feature elegant and welcoming interiors, wenge essential-design furniture, and the best amenities offered by Hostel Florence Academy. he entrance lounge room of Hostel are a combination of elegance and style where art and design contribute to the guests tailor-made experience of good taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Academy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Academy Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing