We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels I've stayed at”
Review of Academy Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Academy Hostel
Ranked #35 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The location of this hostel is great. So close to the Duomo, you can pretty much walk anywhere in Florence from here. The rooms where clean and spacious and the bathrooms where great too. The staff where great, and they offer free wine and nibbles every night for happy hour. A great place to meet people. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 388 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

The location of this place right near the Duomo, plus the friendly staff & it's cleanliness make this hostel unbeatable. They offer a nightly happy hour with wine & a snack (pasta salad, pizza, fresh mozz & tomato) on the terrace, which is a great way to meet other travelers. The kitchen was used by a bunch of people, including myself, during my stay & while the breakfast is basic, it's enough to get you going. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowratheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

It took us a while to find the hostel but it is actually just right next to the alley of the Duomo church! The receptionist was very friendly and helpful upon checked in as well as giving us directions. I love the ambiance of the hostel that we could actually spend our time at the terrace looking at the sky and letting time passing by...

The room is exactly what is describe. Each of us have a cubic and can have some personal time. It is clean, comfortable.

Generally you may get almost everything just right next of the street: restaurants, convenience stores etc.

This was our best stay of our trip!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skylover2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a great hostel, right next to the Duomo, in the heart of Florence. Everything is within walking distance. The hostel is very clean and secure and has a great atmosphere, with an outside terrace to meet people from all over the world. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I stayed at the Academy Hostel for 3 nights, I was amazed as soon as I walked in, I got to the Hostel early, you are allowed to store your bags until check in at 2.30 pm and the staff are great and helpful! I met some really nice people during my stay there and I wish I could have stayed longer. The Hostel is bright and happy. I just loved the pictures of the cats all over the place.
The location is just awesome right in the middle of the city and super easy to find. I would recommend this Hostel to anyone traveling solo or with friends to Florence. It really enhanced my time and experience in Florence.

Room Tip: If you don't mind sharing with others a 4 dorm room is great for solo travelers if you want to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieY87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I were backpacking and we got off the train in Florence late in the evening. We had a little trouble finding this hostel due to signage but once we did they welcomed us in without a booking. It was in a terrific location - close to everything. The rooms were reasonably priced and clean too. There were lovely extras, such as free bruschetta and wine, such a treat for backpackers. We really had such a lovely time, I've since recommended it to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imogenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Best location ever. To the right is the duomo and to the left is the academia museum. Clean room, the only issue I had was the smell of the bug repellant was so strong that I had to turn it off. Thankfully it was a easy fix. Other then that it was awesome especially the 6:30 pm snack and wine that was included!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Layla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#19 of 325 in Florence
204 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#13 of 325 in Florence
407 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#16 of 325 in Florence
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 325 in Florence
2,557 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
#44 of 325 in Florence
146 reviews
Duomo
David Inn
David Inn
#133 of 325 in Florence
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Hostel

Address: Via Ricasoli 9, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $27 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet, smart new hostel is at the most central location in Florence, beside the Duomo on the start of the street that leads to the Museum dell'Accademia (Academy Gallery where Michelangelo's David is housed). The hostel is an early 17th Century Palace, a gem of sober architecture and refined atmosphere.Academy Hostel Florence are the ideal venue for a vacation in Florence. The rooms feature elegant and welcoming interiors, wenge essential-design furniture, and the best amenities offered by Hostel Florence Academy. he entrance lounge room of Hostel are a combination of elegance and style where art and design contribute to the guests tailor-made experience of good taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Academy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Academy Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing