We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Academy Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Academy Hostel
Ranked #23 of 297 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, clean but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Location
Brilliant. Right near the duomo.I'd say about a 10 minute walk from the main train station. Very easy to find. I have read that some people had some issues trying to find the door but when I booked the room there were very detailed instructions on how to get there. Basically look for a wooden door next to a sports store. There are lots of restaurants near by and also a supermarket just up the street. Accademia is also just up the street so you are within easy reach of the main sites.

Hostel
It's very clean, the staff are courteous and there are a number of facilities. The wifi doesn't work in the rooms so you have to go into the main area in order to use it, which was a bit of a pain. There seems to be enough bathrooms to go around, although there was a couple of times when I had to use another bathroom not my 'allocated one'. Breakfast is basic but there's a variety and typical of Italian breakfast e.g. sweet. So there's a sponge cake, cereal, fruit salad, different biscuits, rice cakes, loads of nutella and pane which seem to have lemon in it so when I put nutella in it, it wasn't the best combination.

Room
I stayed in a single room which was fine. Just big enough. There was air conditioning, but it was linked to the main system so you can't independently turn it on yourself to fit in with when you are in your room. If you are staying in summer, you will need it! Especially as you will want to shut the windows due to the mosquitos! My main gripe with this hostel was the noise. I think I was one floor up from reception so I could hear banging, clanging and all matter of noises. I had to wear ear plugs the whole night to shut the sound out. Particularly foot steps are loud and carry through.

Overall for a hostel it's one of the better ones I've stayed in and I was looking for somewhere cheap so it worked out okay.

Room Tip: Not really sure as I was in a single room so might not be that much available, but I would try to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mixedlollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    104
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
43
189
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I had a really great time at this hostel. It is newly renovated and very well done. The staff are friendly and helpful (called a store I was dying to go to in order to find out their hours before I walked there). The only downfall about this place is they do have lockout, which was not mentioned in any of the info I saw before I booked. It was sprang upon me once I arrived. It was very hot when I was there and there were days when I would be dying of heat exhaustion by the time lock out was over. I'd come crawling back in for a cold shower and some AC time. But it really was one of the better hostels I've stayed in!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hostel fully lived up to the rave reviews its got on Tripadvisor. Its bang across the Duomo so getting directions wasn't difficult :) The staff was very warm and friendly. They got us the reservations for both the Uffizi gallery and the Galleria dell'academia.

Its also got a great atmosphere and allows you to mix with a bunch of back packers (they've got pasta and sangria on the house on some evenings). The break fast is a bit functional (cereals, juices and coffee) but enough to fuel the first few hours ;)

The Duomo, Santa Croce, Galleria dell'academia and Uffizi Gallery are within a 5 min walking radius. There are also many great restaurants and affordable eateries nearby (near Duomo and Santa Croce mainly) where you'll also find many locals.

Thanks for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASTRONUT160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in a twin room with a private bathroom for our 7 nights in Florence. The room was large, clean, with lots of well thought out features. Small things like a luggage holder each, a cupboard/bedside table each. Desk. Stool in the bathroom to put stuff on. Things larger hotels don't consider. The bathroom, whilst done out in strange colours was clean and in good repair - no grotty tiles or anything. Very calm atmosphere. Fantastic location in an old building (with fabulous huge wooden entry doors), walk out the front door and you see the Duomo at the end of the street. This is wonderful at the end of the day when the hordes have left. Great restaurants nearby. Easy walking distance to everything. Laundry facilities available - we spent a few hours, sitting on the sofas, on the (free) wifi while we did our laundry. We were 2 women in our 50's and we felt quite comfortable there. The only problem we did have was that the hot water in the shower was a bit temperamental - despite following the instructions, a couple of time we either had no hot water or the shower went cold during the shower. One other thing to be aware of is the numbering of the buildings when you are trying to find the place. We arrived very late at night and despite the directions on how to get to the Hostel, we fronted up to that number and it was a derelict building. We were then told that the same number was further up the street! (Common, apparently in Italy)

Room Tip: Twin bed room with private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great hostel, and the literally perfect location is reason enough to stay here, it is 30m away from the Duomo and walking distance to everything else Florence has to offer. The service was impeccable and check in and out couldnt have been easier. Drinks offered every evening are a lovely touch and a nice way to meet other travellers.
The twin room with a private bathroom was really good. Simple, but clean and very spacious.
A few negatives:
- It was very difficult to find. We arrived on a weekend so the outer door was closed and finding street numbers is difficult in Florence. It's on the left side of the street if you are facing away from the Duomo, but it's further down than we and our iPhone's had thought.
- You have to be out of the hostel from 11-2 while it is being cleaned. This wasn't really a problem, we were always out doing Florence things, but just thought it odd.
- One day when we came back to the hostel after the cleaning our room hadn't been re-locked, there weren't many people in the hostel and luckily nothing was taken but at the time but it was just worrying, considering we'd left valuables including passports in our room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameronwhiteperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

As hostels go, this is the best of the best. It has a great location, it's spotlessly clean, the service is friendly and thoughtful and it just has lots of fab touches that make it very special. I loved the airconditioned rooms with no bunk beds (heaven!!). As a solo traveller, I really appreciated the get together at 6 every evening - it was great to meet people there and then go out for dinner/drinks after the reception. A lovely touch in a super hostel - I can really recommend this place. It's a little more expensive than other hostels, but well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmaggot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
276 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nice room, no bunk-beds! Good breakfast. Wi-fi is not so good, connection failed several times. Very good location, everything is nearby. Considering the services, it's a nice place to stay. But it isn't, definitely, a place to meet people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulorco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#21 of 297 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#15 of 297 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#11 of 297 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#18 of 297 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,350 reviews
7 Santi Hostel
#45 of 297 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
BBH Bed and Bed House Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Hostel

Property: Academy Hostel
Address: Via Ricasoli 9, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 297 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet, smart new hostel is at the most central location in Florence, beside the Duomo on the start of the street that leads to the Museum dell'Accademia (Academy Gallery where Michelangelo's David is housed). The hostel is an early 17th Century Palace, a gem of sober architecture and refined atmosphere.Academy Hostel Florence are the ideal venue for a vacation in Florence. The rooms feature elegant and welcoming interiors, wenge essential-design furniture, and the best amenities offered by Hostel Florence Academy. he entrance lounge room of Hostel are a combination of elegance and style where art and design contribute to the guests tailor-made experience of good taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Academy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Academy Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing