We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”
Review of Academy Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Academy Hostel
Ranked #36 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A lot of conditions when booking. Best location. Decoration in the hostel is beautiful. Really clean. No bunk.Spacious room. Many books in the common room. Snack and cheap wine at 6:30 every day are good for meeting other travelers. Staff is friendly and helpful. I needed to scan and print something. And they did it for free for me. The big TV in the common room is good for movies in the night. But they only have Hollywood dvds…I think they should get more Italian movies. Since Italy is the place to watch Italian movies!!! I spent 4 more euro per night then my roommates, because I booked 2 months earlier than them. Do not book early in the low season!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie_Hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 392 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed in the hostel for five days: four in a mixed room and one in a private room with a friend. The hostel is extremely clean and organized. The location is simply perfect. The staff was very helpful, specially Toto. Unhappily we had a few problems with another guests while staying in the mixed room (one guy started using my shampoo and a girl would arrive at 4 am and turn on the bedroom light), but the hostel staff did their best to solve the problems, even putting us in a private room for the same rate. I would stay there again, but would certainly book a private bedroom.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabianabastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed the the hostel for 3 nights. The hostel is very well organised compared to other hostels I have stayed at. There's a really cool vibe that you feel as soon as you enter the hostel. I felt like all the staff were really helpful. The breakfast was really good and the whole hostel is very clean at all times however when they cleaned our rooms they never made our bed (we stayed in a double room) which I thought was weird. The only complaint I have was I felt there could be one or two more bathrooms but I guess there's no space for that. The location of the hostel is amazing right in the middle of everything. Overall it was a great stay and would recommend it to anyone visiting florence.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I didn't enjoy the Academy Hostel. The staff weren't exactly rude, but neither were they welcoming, and they were willing to help, but didn't seem very pleased about it. The rooms were clean, but that is to be expected given that everyone needs to leave the hostel between 11-2. It has got a very awkward atmosphere, with everyone using the WIFI on there phones in the common areas, and no one actually talking to each other. The free appertivo tries to encourage socialisation, but just doesn't work this way as people grab their food and leave. Overall, it is a nice place, in a good location of a nice city, but I just didn't enjoy the experience offered by the Academy Hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Academyhostel, Guest Relations Manager at Academy Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

We cannot accept that,
As you can see, your review is in complete disaccord with the last 101.
Read about us on both Tripadvisor, Hostelworld and Hostelbookers, you’ll see that everyone was enthusiastic of our staff, and of the relationship we establish with the guests.

It's clear that this is not a party hostel, we do what is up to us for encouraging the socialization but every guest’s experience is unique and it is also influenced by the people they have around.

It is possible that during your staying you didn't found any other lively and proactive guest but, obviously, this is not attributable to the Hostel itself, it depend of yours and other’s attitude.

By the way , saying that our hostel has "a very awkward atmosphere" is the most offensive thing I heard(read) since we opened in 2008.

Sincerely

Toto & all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

You will love this hostel. The staff is outgoing and very helpful, the location simply can not be beaten (1/2 block from the Duomo), the place is spotless, and they do a complimentary happy hour every afternooon. I have stayed at hundreds of hostels over the years, and this is one of the greats.

Room Tip: Nice touch at every bed with the battery powered lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denvergreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic clean, friendly and centrally located hostel. The staff were great, extremely helpful. It is SO close to the cathedral and train station it's amazing. For the price the whole experience is excellent. The drinks/nibbles each night helps a single (or group) traveller connect and find people to hang out with.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RM_Travel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great place to stay! Location could not be better! No bunk beds is bliss! It's definitely NOT a 'party hostel' which is such a HUGE BONUS!... Here you can actually sleep when you need/want to! Staff are really warm and friendly and efficient! Plenty of opportunities to socialise - but in a very CIVILIZED way! They organise 'nibbles' early every evening - and it's a very nice way to meet people and actually TALK to them, instead of going out and getting drunk... Facilities are very good! The showers are fantastic! The only problem I found was not so much with the hostel itself but with the fact that girls these days seem to prioritize their 'fashion sense' over the need to respect others you may be cohabiting with... the high heels on the wooden and stone floors are a nightmare... so are the hair-dryers and the huge suitcases... Other than that, I felt really safe and confortable there for the whole of the 2 weeks I spent in Florence! Thanks, Academy! You're a number 1 in my Hostel book!

Room Tip: The rooms can be dark as they are on the first floor and light only comes in through the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TreasureTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#21 of 333 in Florence
209 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#11 of 333 in Florence
416 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#19 of 333 in Florence
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 333 in Florence
2,602 reviews
Duomo
David Inn
David Inn
#129 of 333 in Florence
56 reviews
San Lorenzo
My Friends Guesthouse
My Friends Guesthouse
#118 of 659 in Florence
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Hostel

Address: Via Ricasoli 9, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $50 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet, smart new hostel is at the most central location in Florence, beside the Duomo on the start of the street that leads to the Museum dell'Accademia (Academy Gallery where Michelangelo's David is housed). The hostel is an early 17th Century Palace, a gem of sober architecture and refined atmosphere.Academy Hostel Florence are the ideal venue for a vacation in Florence. The rooms feature elegant and welcoming interiors, wenge essential-design furniture, and the best amenities offered by Hostel Florence Academy. he entrance lounge room of Hostel are a combination of elegance and style where art and design contribute to the guests tailor-made experience of good taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Academy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Academy Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing