We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, professional, good location”
Review of Academy Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Academy Hostel
Ranked #25 of 305 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent, professional, good location”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

the check in process was thorough, and the place was clean. pretty good internet, and a location that can't be beat. Very easy to walk anywhere you want to in Florence. The breakfast was pretty standard, and the crowd was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    107
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
43
192
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great hostel, until you have a big one the night before because you have to be out between 11 and 2.

They have a social thing every evening. Give you night lights so you don't disrupt other people in your room and no bunk beds.

Also is right in the centre of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brady1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hostel really made my trip special. First, it's a half block from Il Doumo, the fabulous cathedral in the center of town. So if you got a bit turned around (easy to do in Florence!), you just asked for Il Doumo, and that got you pointed back home. It's in a fabulous old building, with a courtyard and huge doors and everything!
The people were stellar. Hello to Wendy from Australia, who now has a Prada bag. Hello to all the rest who made hanging out in the lobby a joy.
The staff was incredible. From help with running the washing machine to advice on where to go for lunch, to setting out a fine set of evening snacks, to keeping everything spotless, to helping out in the middle of the night - these guys are tops.
Go here. Stay here. Take as many days as you can to see the city and experience the hospitality of Italy as personified by this lovely hostel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

2 things that made this hostel one of the best: Location- you cannot be more central in Florence! Step out the door and you can see the Cathedral, that is priceless in itself! Secondly the staff go above and beyond to help people meet each other- awesome if you are travelling alone (or in pairs and getting sick of each other!). Every evening at 6 wine, pizza and salad was provided by the lovely female member of staff, and you can sit on the balcony to chat and relax. The showers are shared but clean, rooms clean, huge lockers, kitchen small and ony electric hobs and a microwave(nice breakfast provided), free computers, nice area to sit. In the nights it was quite though, no wild parties (great for me - I like sleeping occasionally when I travel)!Aircon- a MUST when in Italy in August! When I go back to Florence I will be staying.

Room Tip: All good, some shared rooms have an annexe- sleep there if you don't want people walking past yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hostel was excellent. It is no wonder they won the best hostel award in 2011. The location is fantastic, just around the corner from the Duomo. The rooms were clean, spacious and have single beds, not bunks, and a personal locker. The bathrooms were large and clean. The main foyer is a great place for meeting people. The one thing I loved about this hostel is that at 6.30 each evening, they put on drinks and nibblies for the guests to get together and meet. This was a great idea and a great way to meet other people. I think other hostels should do this.There was plenty of information about tours and maps available. Would definately recommend this hostel to anyone. Please note that if you arrive between 11am and 2pm, you will not be able to check in as they are closed for cleaning, but they will let you leave your bags with them in a safe area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I was lucky to get two nights here as I didn't book in advance but read the previous reviews!

Very close to the Firenze train station, walkable distance and then from the hostel you central to EVERYTHING you need to see starting with the Duomo. The Duomo is right down the street.

The rooms are spacious. They are shared rooms and you don't have a choice of mixed or all girls but because its not bunk beds you definitley feel like you have your own space. Six people in a room with bathroom en suite.

Lockers with locks and a towel is included. As well as access to computers and wifi.

Complimentary breakfast is served in the kitchen every morning. Kitchen small and quaint. I was expecting a herd of people in the kitchen for breakfast but no one. It makes it nice because you can enjoy a few bites without the rowdiness.

For the readers: thy offer the take a book / leave a book which I had been dying to find because I finished all my reading up to that point and now have all new books.

Everything is included in the price so totally worth stay and a good environment to be in while staying in Florence! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dche85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a really great hostel. I really appreciated that there were no bunk beds, and the beds were not too close together so I felt that I had enough space to relax and lay my things out. The lockers were big and I felt very safe the entire time.

The facilities were really clean. The bathrooms are spacious and if you want to use the shower you get the entire bathroom to yourself rather than just a cubicle, which seems like a luxury compared to hostels which usually just have a row of showers. It made showering and dressing etc much easier and pleasant.

The hostel provides a basic but nice enough breakfast, and wine/snacks in the evening, which although basic were definitely a nice touch!

Downsides were that the wifi only works in the common areas and they have a lock out between 11-2pm. I found that very frustrating, and don't understand why people at least cant hang out in the common areas. But otherwise the hostel was great and the staff were really friendly. Also, it has an AMAZING location! If you're here for sightseeing then it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koala_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#19 of 305 in Florence
187 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#10 of 305 in Florence
353 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#12 of 305 in Florence
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#16 of 305 in Florence
2,421 reviews
Duomo
David Inn
David Inn
#171 of 305 in Florence
50 reviews
San Lorenzo
My Friends Guesthouse
My Friends Guesthouse
#130 of 675 in Florence
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Hostel

Property: Academy Hostel
Address: Via Ricasoli 9, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 305 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet, smart new hostel is at the most central location in Florence, beside the Duomo on the start of the street that leads to the Museum dell'Accademia (Academy Gallery where Michelangelo's David is housed). The hostel is an early 17th Century Palace, a gem of sober architecture and refined atmosphere.Academy Hostel Florence are the ideal venue for a vacation in Florence. The rooms feature elegant and welcoming interiors, wenge essential-design furniture, and the best amenities offered by Hostel Florence Academy. he entrance lounge room of Hostel are a combination of elegance and style where art and design contribute to the guests tailor-made experience of good taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Academy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Academy Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing