We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Home' in the heart of Florence”
Review of Academy Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Academy Hostel
Ranked #35 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I have stayed here twice in the last couple of years, once a part of a group, the other as a lone traveller. I would definitely recommend it! Really central to Florence, right next to Il Duomo and great for people on a budget. The rooms are great, no bunks and only 4-6 beds per room means that you have your own space rather than being on top of each other. There are also screens etc to separate beds to give you that little bit extra privacy. The locker and bed side lamp system is also great. I can't comment on the evening snacks etc, because I was never around, but breakfast is also offered. It's not amazing, but it's sufficient enough to tide you over til lunch. A great little place. Will DEFINITELY be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomaRomer1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 390 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

Not to want to engage in hyperbole or anything. However, the nightly drinks and (substantial) appetisers helped promote a very collegial-feel for the hostel. The beds were great (no bunks!), there were more than enough bathrooms to go round (I never had to wait) and the staff went beyond the call of duty. It's close to the Duomo, so you're not going to ever get lost
(or at least, it's pretty easy to get back to the Hostel when you need to - just look for the big dome.) There is a lock out between 11am-2pm, which is fine... who wants to hang around a hostel when you're in Florence?

Room Tip: The only problem was that in the depth of the extreme cold snap that went through, room H got a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Upon arrival, desk staff was very helpful. We arrived well before our check in time, but were given access to a bathroom to freshen up, and were able to safely store our luggage for the day. The location is excellent, right beside Il Duomo, and a 15-20 minute walk from pretty much all the major sights in Florence.

We stayed in a private room, and it was very big, very clean, and felt very secure. There are lockers in the rooms for you to lock your valuables in while you are out for the day (they provide the key and the lock if you don't have your own). Due to its proximity to Il Duomo, you will wake up to the sounds of the bells early in the morning, which is very special - or annoying, I guess - depending on the type of person you are! Service was great, very helpful desk staff. Breakfast was included in the price of accommodation, and very good. Every night a 6 pm they offered free pasta and wine for all the guests - a great opportunity to connect with fellow travelers.

The hostel closes from around 11-2 (confirm with the hostel?) for cleaning. Guests are not allowed into the hostel during this time. This was never a problem for us, as there is plenty to eat and see in Florence, but something to keep in mind.

One downside was that they claimed that they only accepted cash as payment for the accommodations. If this is a problem for you I would suggest contacting them beforehand to clarify. We did happen to see someone paying with VISA the following day, so if you are persistent perhaps they will 'flex' their rules for you -- just be prepared for both!

Overall - WILL stay here again, no question!

Room Tip: Private room was excellent with lots of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This hostel is definetely a great place to stay in florence. The staff is amazingly helpfull and they make sure we get as much as possible out of our visit to the city. Great common areas to meet other travellers in the hostel and nice and spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgia949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed here in mid-July in 2009, was awhile ago but I just joined this site and wanted to review it anyway. It was my first time travelling internationally and I was on a European adventure with one of my best friends. As 18 year olds we were cautious about the places we chose but could not have been happier about this hostel. Reception is up a flight of stairs, can be hard to find but just buzz from outside and they'll explain - at first we thought we were in the wrong place. We arrived before check in and the staff were kind enough to let us keep our backpacks in a storage space as we went off and explored the city.

The rooms were huge and spacious. They had lockers and clean beds. We stayed in a room with 6 single beds, it was a two story room though, with a staircase and high ceilings. Pretty amazing looking. The washroom facilities were excellent as well. There was a kitchen area where people could make their own food if they wanted too. There are free computers in the lobby, or at least they were free 2 years ago, which was convenient for planning/confirming future travel plans.

The Academy's hostel had a patio just off the lobby and hosted a wine & social type event every night (around 6ish if i remember). We made an effort to go to the first one and wow, the people there were amazing, became a daily event. While we were there it was a group of many young people (mid 20s) just graduated from university and the like. A great group. The hostel's employee (I cant remember her name but she was wonderful) loved us so much that she decided to take us on an improvised pub crawl type event. She wanted to make sure we had a great night and introduced us all to the marvels of a kebab (a must-try).

Another night all of the people in the hostel went out for dinner together, probably like 15 of us? A really interesting sense of community we didnt get from any other hotels during out trip.

I am still in contact with a few people I met there, 2 years later. Aussies, Brits and some fellow Canadians. My friend and I only spent 3 nights there but wish we could have stayed longer!
If you're a young travelling person planning on indulging on the nightlife make sure you bring a map out, the piazzas start looking a lot alike after a few beverages.

Overall had an amaaaazing time in Florence!

(July, 2009)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maris24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Academy hostel has the best location in Florence. just down the road from the world famous 'David' and walking distance to all other attractions just steps away from Duomo. this is a very clean and spacious hostel. the free wine and nibblies each night is a great way to meet people and the free internet and computer use is fantastic. Very warm and secure, and the staff are very helpful and accomadating. compared to a few other places it may seem a bit pricey but its very much worth it. the only way to make this hostel better is to have a few more bathrooms, as you may occasionally be stuck waiting to use one. but overall this hostel is absolutely great!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed at Academy Hostel for four nights, in a single room with a shared bathroom. The hostel was great. The room was quite spacious, with two big lockers and a small desk. The bathrooms were very clean and always available. The kitchen and lounge area are just the perfect size for the small number of guests that can stay at any one time and the hostel has all the amenities your'd expect and need - wifi, laundry, kitchen. And the staff were super helpful too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahemilyyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#23 of 326 in Florence
204 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#12 of 326 in Florence
410 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#16 of 326 in Florence
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
David Inn
David Inn
#132 of 326 in Florence
56 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 326 in Florence
2,575 reviews
San Lorenzo
My Friends Guesthouse
My Friends Guesthouse
#118 of 659 in Florence
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Hostel

Address: Via Ricasoli 9, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $48 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet, smart new hostel is at the most central location in Florence, beside the Duomo on the start of the street that leads to the Museum dell'Accademia (Academy Gallery where Michelangelo's David is housed). The hostel is an early 17th Century Palace, a gem of sober architecture and refined atmosphere.Academy Hostel Florence are the ideal venue for a vacation in Florence. The rooms feature elegant and welcoming interiors, wenge essential-design furniture, and the best amenities offered by Hostel Florence Academy. he entrance lounge room of Hostel are a combination of elegance and style where art and design contribute to the guests tailor-made experience of good taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Academy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Academy Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing