We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms nicely decorated but not sound proof or light enough to read.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
Ranked #8 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2010

This is a second floor B&B with a 23-step staircase to the entrance. The rooms are tastifully decorated but very dark. Even in the middle of a bright, sunny day with all the lights on in the room, there is insufficient light for reading, studying maps, etc. The hallway and tiny lobby area are even dimmer. None of the rooms are sound-proof, so one feels no privacy. Residents can hear others coughing, using the bathrooms, talking during phone calls, conversing during breakfast. The breakfasts were lovely, and Valeria makes a fabulous cappuccino. She speaks no English but is warm and caring. Alfredo is bilingual and made museum reservations for us which was very helpful, but sometimes gave us inaccurate information. The guest computer and Wi-fi wasgreatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanMarie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfredoingegno, proprietario at B&B La Casa dei Tintori, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2010

We appreciate this guest for his constructive criticism. We always take in serious consideration our guests’ opinions in order to improve our service and our B&B. In all the rooms we have taken measures to increase the brightness level to ensure that our guests feel comfortable.

In the common areas of the b&b we usually reduce light power in the late evening and at night when everybody rests or sleeps. Anyhow it is always possible to increase light power if necessary. As far as noise is concerned, actually there are just two rooms which overlook the breakfast area. We have verified personally that only in exceptional circumstances you can hear the noise inside of those rooms. Moreover we always pay attention to our guests and check that everybody is considerate while in the common areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 824 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon in early October and I must say that we felt more like family than guests. Alfredo and Valeria did everything from recommend the best places in Florence to eat to giving us hats to wear on our trip to Cinque Terre (which they allowed us to keep as souvenirs). I feel more inclined to review our excellent stay at La Casa dei Tintori than our stay at our 5 star hotel in Rome. Again, what made our stay special was how Alfredo and Valeria treated us throughout our entire stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

The Casa dei Tintori is simply charming. A most welcoming home away from home. A great location...and the best gelato right in the neighborhood. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and clean and for the most part very quiet.
Overall a most wonderful stay and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havepugwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed in the yellow room for four nights and felt right at home from the first moments. QAlfredo and Valeria (the owners) were away and their daughter, Marta, stepped in to manage the B&B. She was delightful and totally accommodating for our every need. The room was great and the bathroom new ........ we loved the exposed brisk and centuries old wood ceiling. Would definitely go back........ tomorrow!!! Mille grazie!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We recently returned from a 10 day trip to Italy. While in Florence, we stayed at La Casa dei Tintori. Our room (the Green room) was very nice. Alfredo and Valeria, our hosts and owners of Casa dei Tintori, are extremely nice and helpful. The breakfast is nice, very good breads, jams, cereals and yogurt.. Also, Valeria makes a great cappuccino. We had the unfortunate experience of leaving Florence for Venice and upon arriving in Venice, we discovered we had left our passports, money and jewelry in the wall safe at Casa dei Tintori. Upon contacting Alfredo, he checked the wall safe and all was there and he then faxed copies of our passports to our hotel in Vence. It meant another trip back to Florence, but we were very grateful to Alfredo for securing our valuables until we could pick them up. The only down side is that you have to take your luggage up (down) a flight of stairs. Very small price to pay though for the opportunity to be a guest in a well located Italian home owned by two wonderful people.
John & Lisa

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jab_and_lmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We arrived at La Casa Dei Tintori about midnight, but, despite the late hour, Alfredo was there to great us. He informed us that we had been upgraded to the 'Red room' which we had originally requested, but it had been booked up. We were lucky they had a cancellation - as this room was wonderful. Spacious, clean, and a lovely bathroom.

La Casa Dei Tintori is a wonderful B and B, very centrally located, we were able to walk everywhere very easily. All the main sites are nearby. Alfredo and Valeria are lovely hosts, and reccomended excellent resturants and places to visit for us.

Breakfast is continental and very nice, with cereals and lovely home made cakes.

We loved Florence and had a brilliant time there, part of our enjoyment was because of this great little B and B. I would reccomend it to anyone and we will definately be going back...

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuffersP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Fabulously renovated B&B in heart of Florence. Quick walk to all the sights. Owners were very friendly and gave us great recommendations on restaurants. The only concern we had was that our passports were left out on the desk overnight. We wish they would have put them away somewhere more secure or out of sight from other guests. But overall I would definitely stay here when we come back to Florence again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,291 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 410 in Florence
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#6 of 410 in Florence
618 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#45 of 410 in Florence
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Casa dei Tintori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Casa dei Tintori

Address: Corso Dei Tintori 33, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $96 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for clean, warm, friendly hospitality and personal service the Casa dei Tintori B&B in Florence, Italy is your answer.Casa dei Tintori is a careful and accurate restoration of a 13th Century building in the historic center of the city.While retaining its Medieval charm, the Bed and Breakfast is equipped with all the modern amenities, including air-conditioning, heating, private bathrooms with showers, TVs and a free fast Internet computer that enables guests to keep in touch with family and friends back home.Each of the five private guest rooms is decorated in period furniture and fabrics in patterns and colors derived from the Florentine tradition of Medieval textile dyers.Casa dei Tintori is located in a quiet, residential and very safe neighborhood with a variety of charming shops, good restaurants, and “ gelato “ stores that make life worth living.This central B&B in Florence is only a short walk from famous landmarks like the Uffizi Museum, the Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens, the Ponte Vecchio which spans the Arno river, Santa Croce, Piazza della Signoria, the Duomo and many more.If that's not enough, there are famous statues, monuments and art galleries everywhere you look.There are, of course, high fashion stores, artisan and leather shops, open air markets and more restaurants than one can count.The Medieval building has an interesting history. Eight centuries ago it was a dyers' house, a large wool weaving and textile dying workshop. In fact thedistrict originally teemed with similar craft workshops under the aegis of "Arte dei Tintori" (Art of the Dyers).With the friendly help of your hosts, Alfredo and Valeria, the B&B Casa dei Tintori in Florence, Italy can truly be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your B&B La Casa dei Tintori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La Casa Dei Tintori
b&b La Casa Dei Tintori Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing