We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Italian experience we wanted!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
Ranked #7 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband, sister, and her husband all traveled to Italy this fall (October 2013). We had no reservations for anything (flight, hotel, car, train, etc!). So, everything we did was "on the fly". We were able to have some amazing food and got around Italy pretty well, but one of our favorite parts was staying at the Casa de Tintori in Florence. It was such a quaint little B&B. The owners and hosts Ricardo & Lavinia were so sweet and welcoming. They made our stay very enjoyable. Everything at this B&B was clean and well maintained. And it's an 800 year old building!! The bathrooms were updated and the rooms were very comfortable. And, I'm not exaggerating when I say that the cappachinos at this B&B were the best I had in Italy. They ground the coffee right there in their little kitchen and served up my cappachino HOT. You can't get hot coffee in Italy. :) Also, the location of this place is perfect. It's right on the river and there are a lot of great restaurants and piazzas close by. We truly enjoyed our Italian adventure and our stay at Casa de Tintori.

Room Tip: We stayed in lemon/yellow colored room and it was beautiful. Hard wood floors and a chandelier over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrslewis1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 835 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

we stayed 2 nights with Ricardo and Livinia. They helped with parking the car, storing our bikes, bus lines, train schedules and driving directions! totally full service so do not hesitate to ask for ideas or help. They were so warm and friendly in addition. Big smiles at breakfast and genuine enthusiasm about all the great things to do and see in Florence - both touristy and off the beaten path. You can walk everywhere from their awesome location (but biking is great too) rooms were wonderfully appointed and extremely clean and comfortable. Quiet even in the front bedroom. Like home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Florence and stayed at La Casa dei Tintori and had a wonderful experience. The B & B was near the Santa Croce neighborhood and a block away from the Arno. The location was great for walking any and everywhere. It was on a quiet street and sleeping was very comfortable. Ricardo and Lavinia and baby Camilla were very hospitable and knowledgeable about the area - very helpful, too. The nice thing about La Casa dei Tintori is that you had the opportunity to experience authentic Italian living. We always felt like we were at home and part of the family - comfortable and cozy. Grazie mille!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lombardicg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our recent stay at B&B Tintori was fantastic. The location is within walking distance to everything you would want to see and visit in Florence. The best and most important thing though is the hospitality Riccardo and Lavinia and their baby brought to our stay. The room (Green Room) with the sitting area was great, the breakfasts awesome and the graciousness of the family made us feel so at home. Any time we visit Firenze we will book at B&B Tintori. Grazie mille Riccardo and Lavinia.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myakka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My fiance and I really enjoyed our time at La Case dei Tintori. The location was great with respect to all the sites and getting around. No car or buss pass necessary. Very easy to get around from the B&B. The hosts were very friendly and informative. The B&B and hosts made for a very cozy, homely experience. We stayed in the Indigo room and it was large, clean and had a very nice private bathroom. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtneyjoy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed one night at Casa dei Tintori in Firenza, and were treated extremely well by Ricardo. He called several times to be sure we got into the city (we were driving, I know - crazy, but the iPhone Google Maps genie brought us in without any problems). He told us where to park, how long to pay for (up until 8pm only), etc.. No worries, got there fine, nice room. I went to the Museo Galilei twice and just drank it all in (science nerd), it was maybe a 5 minute walk. It was a tad expensive but for downtown Florence I assume price was normal. Anyway, the place is fine and you will enjoy it. The stairs going up are quite steep and there are a lot of them, so be prepared to climb to the door of the B&B which seems to have been made out of most of a large apartment on floor 1, one level up from the street. Once inside the B&B there are a few small stairs but mostly all on one level. I should mention that I called to make the reservation the day of our stay - risky but we wanted to travel without a fixed route. It works as long as you have cell phone coverage in Europe. The Verizon $25 per 100MB data plan saved the day, it allowed us to activate data coverage for the entire trip for only $100 and we were then able to use Google Maps turn-by-turn directions for 11 days continuously. Just don't play any videos or download music! It also let us search for B&Bs in various towns while driving between destinations, a huge time saver. Normal cell data rates in Europe are 20 times higher than this so it's a no-brainer if you are going to Europe with a Verizon phone that supports their cell frequencies like iPhone 4S or 5. Just pay the $25 and relax. You get a text message each time you go through 100 MB of data so it's another $25. This happened about every 2 or 3 days for us, and was reassuring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed at La Casa dei Tintori for a few days,in September, with my daughter-in-law. Ricardo and Lavinia went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible, giving us directions, advising us on restaurants in the area and even helping me make a phone call to the U.S. Lavinia took very good care of us at breakfast and, in addition to the very adequate breakfast, she would also make something extra, such as a cake or special pudding, which were, of course, quite delicious.
The B&B has been very tastefully remodeled and we were very comfortable in the Red Room, which was spacious and had everything we needed. We had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend the Casa dei Tintori.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mage375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 659 in Florence
943 reviews
Piccolo Principe B&B
#47 of 659 in Florence
315 reviews
Santa Croce
La Maison du Sage
La Maison du Sage
#5 of 659 in Florence
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#13 of 659 in Florence
1,011 reviews
Fiorenza B&B
#3 of 659 in Florence
830 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#4 of 659 in Florence
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Casa dei Tintori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Casa dei Tintori

Address: Corso Dei Tintori 33, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $95 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for clean, warm, friendly hospitality and personal service the Casa dei Tintori B&B in Florence, Italy is your answer.Casa dei Tintori is a careful and accurate restoration of a 13th Century building in the historic center of the city.While retaining its Medieval charm, the Bed and Breakfast is equipped with all the modern amenities, including air-conditioning, heating, private bathrooms with showers, TVs and a free fast Internet computer that enables guests to keep in touch with family and friends back home.Each of the five private guest rooms is decorated in period furniture and fabrics in patterns and colors derived from the Florentine tradition of Medieval textile dyers.Casa dei Tintori is located in a quiet, residential and very safe neighborhood with a variety of charming shops, good restaurants, and “ gelato “ stores that make life worth living.This central B&B in Florence is only a short walk from famous landmarks like the Uffizi Museum, the Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens, the Ponte Vecchio which spans the Arno river, Santa Croce, Piazza della Signoria, the Duomo and many more.If that's not enough, there are famous statues, monuments and art galleries everywhere you look.There are, of course, high fashion stores, artisan and leather shops, open air markets and more restaurants than one can count.The Medieval building has an interesting history. Eight centuries ago it was a dyers' house, a large wool weaving and textile dying workshop. In fact thedistrict originally teemed with similar craft workshops under the aegis of "Arte dei Tintori" (Art of the Dyers).With the friendly help of your hosts, Alfredo and Valeria, the B&B Casa dei Tintori in Florence, Italy can truly be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B&B La Casa dei Tintori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b La Casa Dei Tintori Hotel Florence
Bed And Breakfast La Casa Dei Tintori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing